Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I liked this but my husband and kids weren't crazy about it. I guess you have to really like chiles. Make sure not to use a big pan, my pan was too big and the eggs were a bit overdone. I think they tasted a lot better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
I made this for the second time last night. The first time, I made it exactly by the recipe - delicious! This time, at the request of my husband, I left the salsa off to be served with the pie - still delicious! This meal is WELL worth the time & effort it take to make it!! Next time, I think I'm going to try it with some jalapenos mixed in with the poblanos, just to spice it up a bit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This is great! I used canned roasted and peeled chiles, omitted the flour and substituted cream for the evaporated milk. I made my own salsa, using the Salsa de Cilantro recipe on this site and served it at room temperature of top of each individual serving instead of cooking it with the pie. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Great recipe! Good way to use up lots of peppers. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This is an excellent way to have the taste of Chilies Rellenos without the work of stuffing the Chilies. The flavor is super and it is easy to make. Has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Muy Bueno! I made it in a pie crust and also added some roasted red bell peppers for color, and minced onion, and used grilled chicken breast meat. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I screwed this recipe up and it still turned out great! I accidentially used 6 eggs instead of 3. I had put it in the oven before I realized my mistake - hubby said we could order pizza if it didn't turn out. Had to increase the first baking time by 15 minutes to get the center to firm up but followed all other directions exactly. We ate it for dinner but my "screwed-up" version will now become a favorite for breakfast or brunch. I'll be heating some up for breakfast tomorrow! Next week I intend to try the original recipe with the exact ingredients. Husband loved my version and can't wait to try the original. PS - being in a hurry, I did use store-bought chicken (Louis Rich brand Southwestern seasoned Chicken Breast Strips) which I had never tried before. Found it in the lunch meat aisle - great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This was so delicious! The sour cream/egg mixture puffs up and tastes so good! I am vegetarian and so I left out the chicken and because of a low carb diet we added cream instead of the flour as another reviewer suggested. Also, I used canned whole chilies because I could not find fresh. Only one tip - don't save the leftovers. They tasted horribly the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Really good, I use less cheese and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I just made this for my Mother's Day Brunch and it was GREAT! I was in a hurry and didn't have time to get poblano chiles, so I used green chiles and added saute'd onions and garlic. I didn't know if poblano chiles were spicer than green chiles so I used pepper jack cheese instead of regular monterey jack to add some spice. Also to make it a little lighter I used light evaporated milk and light sour cream. It was DELICIOUS! I even gave the recipe along with a pretty quiche dish as birthday gift to my best friend - huge hit :) Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States