Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Good, but not exactly to my taste. I would make a few adjustments to make it taste better to me. 1. more eggs 2. insead of salsa on top, cheese, and salsa on side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was good, but not great. I would have preferred many more peppers. Also, don't let the name fool you - there was absolutely no similarity between Chile Rellenos at a Mexican restaurant and this dish. It should have been called Mexican Scrambed Egg Casserole. Perfect for a brunch for the ladies, but not for dinner at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is good stuff. I was looking for a recipe to use some day old (i.e., a little wrinkled) poblano peppers I picked up at the supermarket for on the cheap and this recipe hit the mark perfectly. Followed it pretty much to the tee... electing to use light sour cream instead of the full bodied stuff. At the finish, I strained off some Chi-Chi's mild salsa and spread a layer of it over the pie -- probably did not use a full 2 cups, and then baked it for another 15 minutes as the recipe directed. Awesome! I still had a couple extra poblano peppers to use so I paired it with a Mexican pilaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Very good and the leftovers the next day were even better. The suggestion to put the chiles in a bag for 5 minutes after broiling to help peel works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Fairman Hamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I cut the cheese in half and it was a very good use of my garden peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Cornelius, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I made this last night and it was delicious! I did everything exactly like said but used a 9x11 (didn't have a 11x11) dish. Only thing I might do differently next time (per husband) is add more heat (more chiles) Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was really yummy! I followed the recipe, except I served the salsa on the side. For simplicity, I used canned chicken, but I bet it would also be good with ground beef with some taco seasoning added. I look forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I thought this was just ok. It would have been better for a brunch, and not for dinner. It was a lot more eggy than I was expecting. I probably won't make this again, but it still tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This was an excellent recipe for chile lovers. I used New Mexico Pueblo green chiles that had been roasted. These roasted green chiles have more flavor and heat (which does fluctuate but mine are hot!) than the standard poblano or jalapeno. If your ever in the southwest, grab some green chiles....their so addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdca5033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was pretty good. I made it with grounf beef and taco seasoning. Even though there is a ton of cheese, I might add more next time. Also don't skip the roasting part it is very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States