Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was very easy & flavorful. I grilled the chicken & peppers earlier in the day. The casserole came together quickly and was awesome! Everyone loved it including some one who hates sour cream! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is the best recipe that I have tried so far for chile rellenos pie! I have tried this pie with mushrooms sans the chicken and also with the chicken. I believe the chicken really makes the pie! I made for Taco Tuesdays at my house. Because I started it a little late, we ate tacos and 20 minutes later we had this pie. Needless to say, there was no pie left the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I think this recipe was quite good. To save time I used canned whole chiles minus stems and seeds. I used chopped rotisserie chicken and did not use the salsa on top but served it on the side along with refried beans and warm tortillas.(Salsa verde was a wonderful choice for this recipe) My finicky husband liked it too and even had seconds! After 16 years he still has some surprises up his sleeve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Strain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Unfortunately, our grocery store didn't have poblano chiles, but I had a pregnancy craving, so I tried making this with a jar of hot green salsa (made with jalapenos) and it turned out delicious. Next time I would only use half a jar, since it was a bit soupy on bottom. I'd also only use half a jar of the salsa on top or would cook it longer without the top salsa and just serve it on the side. It was so delicious my husband asked for leftovers the next night (he never does this) - and it was just as good reheated. I used shredded chicken breast from a rotisserie chicken and had to substitute half and half for 3oz of the evap. milk since I only had a 5oz can. This is definitely a keeper recipe, I'm looking forward to making it again when I can find the peppers, but I'm glad to have an alternate solution as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was pretty tasty but it still felt like something was missing!! I added cumin, chile powder, taco seasoning, green onions AND diced jalapenos to the flour/egg/sour cream mixture. It did give the dish some heat. My 7yr old ate it but even when he finished it, he said he still didn't know if he liked it or not!! I plan on heating the left overs tomorrow with refried beans and putting them in a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALICOOKIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This recipe was delicious, My husband and I had friends over and they ate two whole casseroles!! I also boiled two chicken breast with 2 garlic cloves, half an onion, oregano, and some lawry's salt, chopped it up and ladled some chicken broth over it. Also I made one without chicken and my vegetarian friend loved it, I just added more cheese. Instead of jarred salsa I used homemade salsa and topped it with sour cream it was yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugaRandSpiceYeverythingNicey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Delicious recipe, I loved the taste of roasted poblanos. Surprisingly, my husband gave it a thumbs up, eventhough he's not much of a chile relleno fan. I used monterey jack cheese(only cheese I had) and ommited the salsa. Next time I will use the sauce that I usually make for the rellenos, I just didn't think the salsa would be a good choice. This recipe is so much simpler, no mess, than when making chile rellenos. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This had pretty good flavor, but I'd agree with some previous reviewers, it was definitely a brunch recipe. Too many eggs. It really wasn't creamy like I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Yummy. I used canned chiles, no chicken (vegetarian). Added garlic salt. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This recipe tasted GREAT! i gave it 4 stars only because it tasted nothing like chiles rellenos to me.more like a chiles and chicken bake! Still a great recipe!!! thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States