Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this, used half/half instead of the evaporated milk. (it was what I had on hand) I made mine spicier with some home made salsa. Boyfriend told me it was a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wtpbev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I would definitely make this again. It was a great success when I had a Cinco de Mayo brunch at home with friends. The peppers took awhile to roast and peel but I put the peppers in a ziploc bag for a while after roasting so the skin came off easily. I made it all the day before and just put it in the oven in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good! I used reduced fat cheese and fat free condensed milk. I had to let it cook an extra 10 minutes or so longer. I only had 5 chiles, but they seemed to be plenty. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was absolutely amazing!! Easy and soooo delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Simple and tasty--just what I was looking for. (simplified by using canned chilies.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I wanted to prepare actual Chile Rellenos but decided to try this casserole-version for its simplicity and was delighted with it. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I shredded the chicken as I prefer texture when shredded. I don't think I roasted the peppers quite long enough, because even though I let them sweat for a few minutes in a paper bag, I still had a tough time peeling. Forgetting to half the recipe, I ended up eating this for lunch several times and didn't tire of it. It was fluffy and cheesy, with just a slight heat from the peppers that seemed to have flavored up through the other layers. I will definitely add this to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My family and I did not care for this dish at all. We could not finished eating what was on our plate. I really had no taste at all, and I went by the receipe. After reading the reviews, I was so desappointed. I consider myself a very good cook, and I fix alot of Mexican dishes. My family loves Mexican food, and we go to Mexican resturants alot, and have never gotten a dish we did not love, but this one, I just don't understand how other people rate it so high. I would not give it 1 star, infact I threw out what we did not eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
okay, but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
made this a while we enjoyed it, it just seemed to be missing something....I'll probably try it again with a few tweaks....there also seemed to be to much "batter" for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
The picture does it no justice! It looks much more amazing in person! This recipe is very easy - I took another user's advice and put the peppers in a ziploc to steam for 10 minutes, so peeling was very easy. I left out the chicken and served the salsa on the side, and it was so fluffy and delicious! Next time I will definitely try with some Chihuahua or Queso Fresco to make it even more like Chile Rellenos in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States