Chiles Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made this recipe this week and we LOVED it. the only difference is I put two layers of the poblano chile peppers (like lasagne) with the filling in between the layers. This will be a regular on our family menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe. The youngsters just gobble it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Simple & yummy. I added a few fresh elements as to not feel so guilty eating so much of this: fresh cilantro, sauteed diced onion & chopped scallion between the layers. This was a great make-ahead served with salad & sliced avocado. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Long prep time in roasting/peeling chiles. Tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was amazing! My husband and daughter loved it. Then my sister-in-law made it and her husband loved it as well. I don't think I roasted the peppers long enough, they were hard to peel. Next time I would where gloves, my hands burned later that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
this is a very good and yummy recipe i have made Chile Rellenos the more traditional way it's a little more mess and worry then i'd like so this Pie is a Great compromiser it heather and no mess no frying! thanks Kat Mitschke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this recipe the other night and loved it! I made a couple of changes: Replaced two of the chiles with pasilla chiles to add a hint of spice. Additionally, I chopped up 1 linguica sausage and added it instead of chicken to the top prior to baking. So good! Suggestion: After roasting the peppers, place them in a Ziploc bag for 15-20 mins. the steam helps make peeling easier. Run them under water when peeling if you're having a hard time. Also, if you split and seed the chiles prior to broiling, it will save you time. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is some really good comfort food! I ended up using a smaller dish (9 x 7) and made two layers of peppers and cheese, with the chicken in between. I only had 3/4 of a cup of sour cream, so I subbed in 1/4 cup of cottage cheese. I added about 2 1/2 to 3 cups of mixed jack and cheddar cheese (just eye-balled it, but there was at least a cup left in my 32 ounce bag), and I think that was the perfect amount. The ratio to the batter was just right. As other reviewers pointed out, it is not the same as a traditional chile relleno, but it is a great dish nonetheless. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Needs work, basic recipe is great, poblanos came out tasting like spinach, I grow my own peppers and know that from plant to plant or row to row that poblanos can range from very mild to medium warm, as I said this tasted way on the mild side. I followed the recipe as written and I and my family would like a little more spice. I used Ortega Mild Salsa, should have used a hotter salsa than Ortega mild. As stated the recipe is great as written, but needs to be adjusted to taste. I used Tabasco Jalapeno hot sauce to jet up to my taste and this was just for additional taste, you may use any other hot sauce of your preference, but I do not recommend any of the red hot sauces as they tend to have too much vinegar and unknown pepper combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Wow...this was awesome...subbed hamburger for the chicken and it was so easy and so good. Best part was no frying, therefore better for me..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States