Chilean-Style Sopaipillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made them for my Chilean husband, he says they are to flakey. Seems like a lot of flour and not enough squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I am an American Chilean, but my mother came from Chile and she has made sopaipillas all my life and when I have gone to Chile my aunts make us sopaipillas. I especially like them soaked in chancaca. These are nothing like what my mom or my aunts make. Although they are ok to eat "dry", their bread like texture is NOT good for soaking them in syrup (pasadas which is my favorite way of eating them). After taking them out of the sauce they were beyond soggy, nothing like my mom or my aunts make in Chile :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Needs more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
These are SO yummy! This recipe makes A LOT. This was for 4 people and was way too much as an appetizer or snack, more like a meal. I will half the recipe next time so it is less time consuming. Really great with salsa! My mother even had some with butter. Goes good with almost everything! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I tried this original recipe ,which is excellent!then the next time I used yam or sweet potatoes, they taste even better! You can also use regular potatoes instead of pumkin or yam. If you use potatoes then they are called Sollocas, my aunt used to make them in those cold, rainy/snowy days in the south of Chile, where the potatoes are abundant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
My husband grew up on these while living in Chile. In Chilean tradition we make them when it is rainy and cold. His Chilean mom and he say they taste just like they are suppose to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Excellent! I am from Chile and I live in USA. I tried this recipe a few days before and It was just like being in Chile, with the difference of snowing outside instead of raining. But it was amazing. Just like being in Chile!. specially becaise I made some with "Chancaca" ! If you are a chilean, you know what I mean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Sooo great!! Reminds me of a chilean rainy and cold day.. Which is perfect for the snow!! The only thing I would do is to make them bigger around and also thinner as they plump up during frying.. But with mostaza, pebre o azucar. son Sabrosos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe is really good. Delicious with sour cream, whipped cream or sea-buckthorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I made these for my Chilean boyfriend as a surprise and he loved them! The required squash was out of season so I used a sweet potato on a whim and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States