Chilean Potato Pie (Pastel de Papas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I've never made anything from this website that has never been reviewed, but this sounded so good, I took a chance. I was not disappointed, and I will make this again. I did make a couple of minor changes, mostly out of necessity. For instance, I live nowhere near a metropolitan place where the suggested cheese is available, so I shredded in pepper jack cheese, instead. I also thought it would be nice sprinkled on top, so I shredded a liberal amount there. (It made a wonderful, golden crust! I did cut down on the baking time by about 10 minutes, though...so as not to burn the cheese.) I was out of cayenne pepper, so I threw in some red pepper flakes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I gave it 4 start only because the amount of mashed potatoes is half what it should be. In a sheperd's pie you only need potatoes for the top, but in a pastel de papas you need it for top and bottom, and this was barely enough for a top. A WORD OF WARNING: if you're cooking less than 8 servings, check the amounts you're given! From the 2 tbsp of cheese in the 8-serving recipe, I ended up with 5 CUPS!! for a 4-serving recipe! In Uruguay, neighbour to Argentina and Chile, our pastel de papa doesn't take cheese, but I enjoyd the taste of cheese in this. We skip the eggs too and the result is a more solid mash potatoes, but just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I lived in Chile for 2 years and our language teacher served us this dish. It is now a family favorite. I do not add any of the tomato products but everything else is the same. A delicious comfort food that is easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great recipe which lends itself to more creativity! I added sliced green olives, cilantro, diced green hot chili, diced raw tomato and red onion. No egg in the mash...two levels are super yummy! I also put in lima beans with canned corn...great meal with lots of leftovers! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I kept the full 8 serving portions for the potato mixture (potatoes, butter, and eggs), but cut everything else in half. I also used red potatoes, with the skins. I added about 1/2 t cumin and a few shakes of chili powder, and went a little heavy on my pinch of cayenne pepper. Lastly, I used Monterey jack cheese into the ground beef mixture, and then in the last 10 minutes of baking, I added about 2 T more of the same cheese to the top of the pie. Smells great as it cooks. Conclusion: Good comfort food for a cold autumn evening! The boyfriend has never had Sheperd's Pie, and he enjoyed this. Will make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa, Indiana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was a great dish. I couldnt find the cheese so I used a mexican blend cheese. Also made one with tofu and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I looked for the panquehue cheese in at least five stores and couldn't find it, so I used cheddar jack cheese. I left out the tomato paste and ended up draining the meat mixture (because a half cup of veg. oil seemed like a lot). I thought this was a good dish though I probably will not make it again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
My daughter has made this several times for Food Day in various Spanish classes. It was there this recipe was renamed Chilean Crack Potatoes; you find yourself thinking about how to get more for later in the day. I just made it myself for the first time and would suggest cutting the oil by more than half. Colby Jack is a substitute for the cheese, and we use 4 oz. Oh, in the interest of time, I do use garlic instant potatoes; two 4 serving envelopes. The other reviewer is right, it could use more potatoes - depending on preference. Without a doubt these would be over the top if made wtih real potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this for hubby while I was on a diet and unable to taste it. I used sambel chili mix in the mince and a mash of potatoes, sweet potatoes and carrot. I used the egg despite some reviewers saying they did not as I wanted the potato to set firmly and get that nice little crust layer it does when you use egg. Hubby said it was a 2.5 - 3 star recipe as something was off in the spices, but he is not sure what or he would of rated it higher. Still did not stop him going back for seconds though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this exactly as shown and thought it was a delicious meal. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States