Chilean Potato Pie (Pastel de Papas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I've never made anything from this website that has never been reviewed, but this sounded so good, I took a chance. I was not disappointed, and I will make this again. I did make a couple of minor changes, mostly out of necessity. For instance, I live nowhere near a metropolitan place where the suggested cheese is available, so I shredded in pepper jack cheese, instead. I also thought it would be nice sprinkled on top, so I shredded a liberal amount there. (It made a wonderful, golden crust! I did cut down on the baking time by about 10 minutes, though...so as not to burn the cheese.) I was out of cayenne pepper, so I threw in some red pepper flakes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I gave it 4 start only because the amount of mashed potatoes is half what it should be. In a sheperd's pie you only need potatoes for the top, but in a pastel de papas you need it for top and bottom, and this was barely enough for a top. A WORD OF WARNING: if you're cooking less than 8 servings, check the amounts you're given! From the 2 tbsp of cheese in the 8-serving recipe, I ended up with 5 CUPS!! for a 4-serving recipe! In Uruguay, neighbour to Argentina and Chile, our pastel de papa doesn't take cheese, but I enjoyd the taste of cheese in this. We skip the eggs too and the result is a more solid mash potatoes, but just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I lived in Chile for 2 years and our language teacher served us this dish. It is now a family favorite. I do not add any of the tomato products but everything else is the same. A delicious comfort food that is easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great recipe which lends itself to more creativity! I added sliced green olives, cilantro, diced green hot chili, diced raw tomato and red onion. No egg in the mash...two levels are super yummy! I also put in lima beans with canned corn...great meal with lots of leftovers! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I kept the full 8 serving portions for the potato mixture (potatoes, butter, and eggs), but cut everything else in half. I also used red potatoes, with the skins. I added about 1/2 t cumin and a few shakes of chili powder, and went a little heavy on my pinch of cayenne pepper. Lastly, I used Monterey jack cheese into the ground beef mixture, and then in the last 10 minutes of baking, I added about 2 T more of the same cheese to the top of the pie. Smells great as it cooks. Conclusion: Good comfort food for a cold autumn evening! The boyfriend has never had Sheperd's Pie, and he enjoyed this. Will make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa, Indiana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was a great dish. I couldnt find the cheese so I used a mexican blend cheese. Also made one with tofu and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
My daughter has made this several times for Food Day in various Spanish classes. It was there this recipe was renamed Chilean Crack Potatoes; you find yourself thinking about how to get more for later in the day. I just made it myself for the first time and would suggest cutting the oil by more than half. Colby Jack is a substitute for the cheese, and we use 4 oz. Oh, in the interest of time, I do use garlic instant potatoes; two 4 serving envelopes. The other reviewer is right, it could use more potatoes - depending on preference. Without a doubt these would be over the top if made wtih real potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I looked for the panquehue cheese in at least five stores and couldn't find it, so I used cheddar jack cheese. I left out the tomato paste and ended up draining the meat mixture (because a half cup of veg. oil seemed like a lot). I thought this was a good dish though I probably will not make it again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri-Lynn Howell-Schlaiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this exactly as shown and thought it was a delicious meal. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States