Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Delicious! Followed the directions exactly and everyone (including a pretty picky four year old) LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I've made this recipe several times and as far as I'm concerned it's the best version of chile verde I've ever tried. In the winter, I've used frozen peppers and canned tomatilloes and the recipe is just as good as when I can use fresh ingredients. If you're looking for a great tasting, authentic, chile verde recipe, look no further, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was a new experience for me! I have never even tasted Chile Verde before, let alone make it myself. I don't know what's "authentic" and what's not or how it's supposed to look or taste. After a little research and after reading some of the reviews, I gave this a shot. First, I roasted the tomatillos, jalapenos and poblanos at 400* for 12 minutes, then pureed them in the food processor. I dredged the meat in flour, browned it, added the chopped onion, yellow bell peppers and garlic. Deglazed the pan with 1/4 of the amount of chicken broth called for (given so many reviews indicating there was far too much broth in the recipe). I put everything in the slow cooker along with the cumin, and Mexican oregano, salt, pepper and chopped, fresh cilantro to taste. My plan was to serve this in tortillas with sliced avocado and queso fresco, but this was still just too liquidy for that. Alternatively, the thought of eating what was essentially a stew of pork and tomatillos with a bowl and spoon didn't appeal to me either. So, authentic or not, I added a can of cannellini beans (white kidney beans) for the recipe scaled down to 4 servings and 1-1/4# of meat. Now I had something! The beans definitely gave it substance, interest and texture, and appealed to my ingrained "there's got to be beans if it's chili" way of thinking! This was tasty enough, but maybe just too different for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
wow i never knew that this could taste so good I have had this at a Mexican place and never thought i could make this at home thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I ate a small bowl before it was finished, but for my own personal taste, I added the juice of 1/2 a lime and a can of drained black beans towards the end of cooking. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I loved this!! I'm a New Mexican now living in Texas and crave anything w/ chili!!! I used a pork tenderloin and added potato and hominy!! Used my slow cooker and had a wonderful meal for a cold winter day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is the best chile verde i've ever had, good enough to have passed it to all my recipe buddies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
The best Chile Verde recipe that i have ever made. Truly great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Italy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have always been a Verde fan, and this recipe did not disappoint. Followed recipe with the exception of using some mexican all purpose seasoning. Excellent served with warm flour tortillas and jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very good recipe. I made it great the first time and had never bought a tomatillo before in my life. My wife is mexican and even she liked it a lot. I used a lot less chicken stock (1 quart) and a little less meat, but all the chiles. Okay. I've made this a bunch of times now and I don't measure anything when I make it anymore. I like anaheim and jalapeno chiles. I made this for fun at a rib cook off and had an international chili judge tell me that this is the real deal! One tip. You have to fire roast your chiles and your tomatillos. Adds great flavor. My family loves this recipe and I've gotten to where I feel like I really know what I'm doing. Thanks allrecipes.com. This is the best dish I make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States