Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was VERY good. Not difficult. I roasted the peppers too long, so they were more blackened (and I didn't peel them) but it was easy to puree them in the FP. BTW, Poblano peppers were called Pasilla peppers in my Winco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is exactly the restaurant style/flavor Chile Verde that I love! So. Good. Be aware the 4-1/2 quarts chicken broth I believe should read 4-1/2 CUPS! I followed "Motherof4bigeaters" (April 8) and "Debra's" review (July 6) and it turned out perfect. Remember to add salt and pepper to each step as per Motherof4bigeaters suggestion. I can't believe I finally found the ultimate Chile Verde recipe! I am a beginner cook and this turned out great for me. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was very good. I made a half-recipe, and used another reviewers suggestion to roast the chilies and tomatillos before pureeing them. I cooked it "slow and low" in a regular kettle until the meat was soooooo tender. This also helped to reduce the "soupiness" so the stew was nice and thick Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This recipe is amazing, and cannot be beat. It is the real deal. I also boiled tomatillos with the jalepeno as others mentioned, before throwing into the food processor, and served this over rice. Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Wow! My husband and I both loved this at first bite. I tried to follow the recipe exactly (I forgot to add the cilantro, but will do it with the leftovers) except for cutting the broth in half, using a green bell pepper, and scaling the recipe down to 4 servings. The tomatillos thickened the stew up beautifully. I had previously tried Bianca's Green Chile Pork from this site, in an effort to replace a recipe I'd gotten from Sunset Magazine many years ago, but this recipe will replace it in my recipe book. It amazes me how a few simple ingredients can combine to such a perfect flavor. This is exactly the recipe I was looking for and it will become a regular in our meal line-up. Thanks, Clare, for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe would be good if it had the correct amount of broth, it's suppose to be 4 1/2 cups not 4 1/2 quarts. This is suppose to be thick like a stew or gravy instead it's like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kidnkorner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I have made this twice now. DH loves this dish. I don't measure most of the stuff. Added fewer poblanos and more jalapeno just what ever I had in the refer. One time I made it in the crock pot second time on the stove top. Served over rice or mashed spuds. Topped with cilantro and a squeeze of lime. I am a hero now! Edit: I also added a large can of green chiles. Can't wait to try the version from the last two posters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I had never tried chili verde before. It doesn't taste as much like a traditional chili con carne as I thought it would, but once I got used to the taste of the tomatillos I really liked it. I cut the recipe in half and cut up some pork chops for the "stew meat". It tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I grilled a 4-lb pork roast & was looking for something to do with the leftovers, when I saw this. I roasted the bell & all of the other peppers & the tomatillos & pureed them with the cilantro before adding to the pot. I also added roasted tomatoes. It got rave reviews in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delicious. I started out trying to duplicate the "smothered" sauce from our favorite smothered burrito place. This isn't it, but it is delicious! (I think more green chile and less tomatillo would do it.) A perfect New Mexicoan chile verde. (Oh how I miss the food in Albuquerque.) I followed the recipe almost exactly. My market only had 3 poblanos and I couldn't get my mind around bell peppers, so I ended up using the 3 poblanos plus about 12 Anaheims. I also used 6 jalapenos, since they were really small. The main difference, though, was that I roasted everything first. I roasted the chiles so I could peel them. (I hate the plastic-y bits of peel that you find in your food after you cook raw peppers and the flavor is SO much better.) Then I cut the tomatillos in half, put them cut side down on a cookie sheet and baked them until they kind of exploded and collapsed. They're a richer and deeper flavor if you roast them first. Also, the cilantro I bought was kind of gross, so I ended up using only about a third of the bunch. Cubing up the pork shoulder was a huge pain, so I think I'll use a leaner cut in the future - maybe some thin-cut chops? Easier to cube and way less fat. I left the whole thing simmering while we went to a party and I think I'll always cook it a long time in the future, so the leaner cut shouldn't end up tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States