Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was good. I did find it a bit thin so I created a roux with the liquid and some four and it thickened up nicely. I was expecting this to be spicy, but it wasn't at all. Next time I will probably add more jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
We loved this and are definately making again! Followed original recipe and it turned out super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKLisaK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
used Anaheims instead of yellow peppers - roasted & de-skinned all peppers before pureeing with the tomatillos & cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavinSunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
The flavor was perfect. Next time I would not add quite as much chicken broth as it was way to much. Chile Verde should be thick. I also floured the meat before I seared it. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was VERY good. Not difficult. I roasted the peppers too long, so they were more blackened (and I didn't peel them) but it was easy to puree them in the FP. BTW, Poblano peppers were called Pasilla peppers in my Winco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is exactly the restaurant style/flavor Chile Verde that I love! So. Good. Be aware the 4-1/2 quarts chicken broth I believe should read 4-1/2 CUPS! I followed "Motherof4bigeaters" (April 8) and "Debra's" review (July 6) and it turned out perfect. Remember to add salt and pepper to each step as per Motherof4bigeaters suggestion. I can't believe I finally found the ultimate Chile Verde recipe! I am a beginner cook and this turned out great for me. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was very good. I made a half-recipe, and used another reviewers suggestion to roast the chilies and tomatillos before pureeing them. I cooked it "slow and low" in a regular kettle until the meat was soooooo tender. This also helped to reduce the "soupiness" so the stew was nice and thick Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This recipe is amazing, and cannot be beat. It is the real deal. I also boiled tomatillos with the jalepeno as others mentioned, before throwing into the food processor, and served this over rice. Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Wow! My husband and I both loved this at first bite. I tried to follow the recipe exactly (I forgot to add the cilantro, but will do it with the leftovers) except for cutting the broth in half, using a green bell pepper, and scaling the recipe down to 4 servings. The tomatillos thickened the stew up beautifully. I had previously tried Bianca's Green Chile Pork from this site, in an effort to replace a recipe I'd gotten from Sunset Magazine many years ago, but this recipe will replace it in my recipe book. It amazes me how a few simple ingredients can combine to such a perfect flavor. This is exactly the recipe I was looking for and it will become a regular in our meal line-up. Thanks, Clare, for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe would be good if it had the correct amount of broth, it's suppose to be 4 1/2 cups not 4 1/2 quarts. This is suppose to be thick like a stew or gravy instead it's like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kidnkorner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States