Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Geat soup! We're all vegetarians, so we made some seitan (wheat gluten+veggie stock, pre-boiled for an hour) and put it in instead of the pork. It was the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tempest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
this is a fabulous dish with rice. I make it with ground turkey and its is just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywithin41

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I combined this and another recipe and the result was SO mind blowingly delicious. It was perfect from the first bite to the last. I did a much smaller recipe (2-4 people) Here is what went down: 1lb tomatillos, 2 jalapenos and 1 poblano, 2/3 tsp salt, 2 pinches sugar. Broil on low the husked tomatillos and de-stemmed and de-seeded (if desired) peppers on a cookie sheet on the top rack of your oven for 10 min, flip and 10 min more. Then blend them (careful, hot!) and add the salt and sugar. Set this aside. Now brown your meat. Then cook 1 med diced onion and 1 diced bell pepper until limp, add 3 cloves minced garlic and cook 2 more minutes. Then throw in 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp cumin, 1 crushed bay leaf, some fresh pepper and salt (pinch each) and 2 tsp *crushed* coriander seeds. Add in 1.5 cups chicken stock, half of a cilantro bunch, snipped up and your tomatillo blend. Simmer 2-3 hours. Or in a hurry, 1.5 hours with some chicken, for example. I served this with a rice/black bean mix (salted, coconut oil, and melted mexican cheese blend on top). WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
So good! I had a ton of tomatillos and didn't know what to do with them. This was the perfect solution. There was a lot more broth then I expected so I strained it off and used the left over broth to make a soup. It worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Great tasting. Was mild enough to feed to my kids, but still had flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLishas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I had a picnic roast and cooked it in the slow cooker. I do think it was a little runny and next time I will add the broth last. I only added about 3 cups, but I had fresh tomatillos from the garden which were very juicy this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Authentic and distinctive, with one major modification, this Chile Verde recipe is a winner! Only about half of the chicken broth called for in the recipe is needed to make the Chile Verde a perfect consistency. I followed the lead of naples34102 and roasted the tomatillos, jalapenos, and poblano peppers to intensify the flavors. It was delicious served over brown rice topped with shredded Mexican cheese and sour cream; leftovers were equally as good served in whole wheat tortillas with avocado, cheese, and thinly shredded cabbage (I like the crunch and added nutrition of cabbage but shredded lettuce would have been good, too). Four stars because ingredient amounts were off by quite a bit, but five stars for flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
It makes a LOT! It is delicious and better for the body than chicken soup when you're feeling down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyCeltic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is better than any chile verde I've had in a restaurant. Absolutely delicious. I steamed the tomatillos for a couple of minutes and let cool before blending. I also added the seeds from one of the jalapenos as otherwise, it is a bit bland. I roasted the chiles, peeled, then blended half of them with the tomatillos and chopped the other half. This recipe make A LOT but the leftovers freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe! I do use beef instead of pork but that is just a personal preference. I leave this simmering for a few hours to get the flavors really going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States