Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very good recipe. Very similar to the green chili we would got in Colorado. Great for smothering burritos or for huevos rancheros. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
this is a great recipe. however I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 stars due to the directions state to just dice of the peppers and put them in to cook. there is no way for the peppers to cook down enough in the time this cooks for them to be appealing. I ended up roasting them with the tomatillos and still had to fish them out after they were diced and put in to cook because they still just weren't cooking down. I fished them out and blended the majority and put them back in. from now on I will roast all of the veggies. blend the tomatillo and garlic and then all the other peppers and add them. It has a really great flavor. Oh and the amount of broth in the recipe is way too much. I would start out with 1/4 - 1/2 of that then add more if you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I've made many batches of chile verde over the last twenty years, each time trying slightly different ingredients (especially the varieties of chiles) and techniques. This version is very similar to how I make it these days, with a couple of important differences. First of all, the amount of broth in this recipe is way too much! The batch I just made today had three pounds of pork shoulder and only 4 cups of chicken broth- not the 9 cups that Clare uses. I used three fresh poblanos and three anaheim chiles and about 1-1/2 pound of tomatillos. I roast them under the broiler, put in a large glass bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let them steam for at least a half hour (roasted chiles and tomatillos add great depth to the sauce). When it's time to peel and seed the chile's, DO NOT rinse them under water as you are doing this! I see this technique used in recipes all the time and it's a big mistake, as rinsing the chiles in water washes much of the roasted chile taste down the drain! Instead, take a paper towel and rub off the skin and wipe off the seeds from the inside of the chiles. I also chop the tomatillos into quarters and bake in a shallow greased baking pan at 400 degrees, stirring occasionally until they're nice and soft and begin to caramelize. I have found that a dutch oven works best for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Great recipe. I never have exact amounts of precise ingredients, but even when such a lame cook as me, didn't exactly follow this recipe, it came out fantastic. I absolutely love it. Best green chille I've ever had. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I have made this recipe a few times and it is tasty. It is WAY better when you roast the veggies in the oven first... cut veggies in half, put on cookie sheet, brush with olive oil and broil until just starting to char. I have also found it to be a little on the runny side, so I use a little less broth, simmer it longer, or add a little cornstarch or flour to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this & followed the directions as is. The end result was similar to green pozole minus the hominy. It wasn't what I was expecting but it tasted delicious. I ended up giving in & added hominy. Way too much broth for stew. I also roasted the peppers, then removed the skin before blending. I making it again but I plan on using only 2 cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I substituted the pork with one whole chicken ( I used cut up bone-in). I fried the onions in oil till they softened and added the chopped garlic. I then added chicken and all spices and stir fried. I grilled all the peppers, removed their skin and blended along with the tomatillos. I added this mixture to the chicken. Lastly I threw in a can of black beans and cooked on low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very tasty and worh the effort ! After reading others reviews I also steamed the tomatillo's and jalapeno's together until soft before blending in my food processor.I also grilled the Poblano and Bells on my gas grill and let steep in a large bowl covered tightly with plastic wrap to soften peppers enough to make peeling and blending a snap.I lightly floured the pork and in batches browned it to a nice golden brown.Unlike most reviewers I did not cook in a crock pot ...instead I used my 9qt dutch oven.The authentic way ?! Cast Iron cooking always produces better flavor/results in my opinion ! Most importantly I only used 1 QUART of low sodium broth !!!! More than enough. This Chile Verde was a hit with the wife so that says alot :) I let this simmer on low(low as my gas flame could go without blowing out) for 6 hours stirring every 30 minutes ....like I said before ..worth the effort !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was AWESOME!! I have a lot of people to please when it comes to dinner and so finding a recipe that is a crowd pleaser isn't always easy. This one was the best. One of the people that partook in this was my father-in-law who said it was the best he's ever had! One change I made was I added roasted anaheim peppers. So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpellCaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kearns, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Used all ingredients as listed with the exception of using chicken broth instead of vegetable, & only needed about three 14.5 oz. cans, even though I had this simmering & thickening for 3 hours 3 cans was plenty. I also roasted the chiles & par-boiled the tomatillos as suggested by others. This was very good but still not quite the way I like it, though everyone seemed to enjoy. Next time I'll blend the chiles (maybe the cilantro too) with the tomatillos, add bit more garlic & cumin (& perhaps a little chile powder?) & a pinch of sugar to cut the tang of the tomatillos...sounding better already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States