Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is the first time I've tried making Chile Verde with pork. The meat was tender and delicious but I missed the savory flavor of beef - it was as though "something" was missing. I intend to go half beef and half pork next time I make this...and yes, I will definitely make this again. The combination of peppers and chil1es were outstanding. I also added several freshly roasted, peeled and diced green chilies which turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I add 12 oz of beer instead of the chicken stock. This gives the fermented taste this recipe calls for. The alcohol cooks off. Serve with warm tortillas, sour cream, guaz, cheese, pico de gallo. A great finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is my all-time favorite thing to eat in the world. I do it in the crock pot so I don't have to keep an eye on it as closely. I just brown the meat, then cook the onions and garlic and put it in the crock pot with only 2 cans of broth. The recipe calls for way too much. Then I throw all the peppers in the food processor and throw them in the crock pot along with the spices (I add 1 tbsp chili powder). After the pork is tender I add the tomatillos and cilantro and give it another couple of hours. I also add about 1 tsp of garlic salt if it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Great recipe. I wanted to make a vegetarian version so I skipped on the pork, added potatoes, white kidney beans and black beans and omitted the stock, then served it with grated cheese and sour cream. It was very tasty, but even better using the leftovers as a nacho topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was the best homemade chile verde I have had. I cut down the recipe to feed 4. The changes I made were: instead of tomatillos, I used a 7 oz. can of Herdez Salsa Verde; I browned the meat with a Tbsp. of Essence (Emeril's); I did not seed the jalapeno; and, finally, I added a 1/2 cup or more of cooked white rice. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fredymac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe was good, but it needed attention. The recipe needed about a third of the Cilantro called for and I really like Cilantro. As another reviewer mentioned, I used way less chicken broth (just enough to cover the pork).Also, I would suggest not pureeing the cilantro with the tomatillos and just give them a good chop.I pureed them as the recipe say to and the result was less than pleasing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabeacook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe could have been so good. I tasted the puree with everything in it minus the chicken broth and it was delicious. There was so much chicken broth that the flavor was lost completely. So, I made it again and halved the recipe. I used only 3/4 of a cup of chicken broth. I also upped the tomatillos to 3 1/2 pounds and added only 2 pounds of chicken just because we prefer it to pork. I shredded the chicken with a fork an hour before turning off the crock pot. With 3 pounds of chicken, it was more like shredded chicken with tomatillo in it but with only 2 pounds, it was like a real chille. I also found the initial trial of the recipe to be watery. The trick is to boil the tomatillos whole before pureeing them. What a HUGE difference that made in the thickness. With those changes, it came out so well. My rating is based on the recipe with these changes made to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was fantastic! The flavors were wonderful and the meat was very tender. I did cook it a little longer on the 2nd simmer just to get all the peppers nice and soft. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a good repipe, but is not spicy enough for my family and needs adjustments. With these adjusments it was GREAT! I doubled the garlic, doubled the jalapenos, added an equal number of serranos, added 2 yellow chiles. I did not seed the chiles - this is where the flavor is. The other change was to use only enough chicken broth to cover the meat while simmering (about 1/3 of the called out amount). I used Morton salt lite and Trader Joe's Low sodium chicken broth the keep the sodium content under control. Prepared like this, it was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the first time I made this. I read through the reviews and took advantage of everyones experience. I took a little from each person. I put the tomatillos and jalapenos in a pot with a little water (approx 1 cup) and steam/boiled them till they were soft. I also lightly floured the pork before searing in the skillet. After the pork was seared, I put the meat in a large crock pot. I put the stemed tomatillos, fresh cilantro leaves and stemed jalapenos in the blender for 1-2 min. I poured the mixture over the meat in the crock pot. I took the other peppers (yellow and poblano) and roasted them on the gas grill until they were blistered all over. I placed them in a plastic bag to cool..then under water peeled the skin off of each. I placed the yellow and pablano peppers in the blender and mixed for 1-2 min, then added this to the crock pot over the meat. I cooked the onions w/spices as instructed, and once the onions were soft I added 1/2 cup chicken broth to help deglaze the skillet then added this into the crock pot. I cut the recipe in half (service for 10), but the one IMPORTANT thing was that I added all the ingredients into the crock pot and then added the chicken stock LAST so I could control the thickness of the sauce. I ended up using approx 3 1/2 cups of chicken broth because the tomatillos and blended chilis made up the rest of the sauce. It was FANTASTIC....the BEST Verde ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savonburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States