Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have never made green chile, but this seemed like a good place to start. I cut the recipe in half. I use green chile as a dip and to smother burritos, so I started with pork for stew and cut it into even smaller pieces. While I seared the pork, I roasted all the peppers in the oven for about 20 minutes until they were charred and blistered. I took them out and put them in a plastic zipper bag to steam and then skinned and seeded them. I used a food processor on all the peppers. I cooked the onion and garlic as directed. I boiled the tomatillos in about an inch for water for 10 minutes before I pureed them. I put everything in a crock pot. Initially the recipe was a bit tart. I added the 1/2 teaspoon of sugar as recommended in Crystal's review and the tartness disappeared. I then added 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander and 1/2 teaspoon oregano. I left out the fresh cilantro as not everyone is as fond of it as I am. I did not use any chicken broth. Instead I used one heaping teaspoon of chicken soup base and added it to the crock pot. This kept the mixture from getting too thin. I took my first run at green chile to a potluck and everyone was quite impressed. This recipe is flavorful without being too spicy. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
So good! I have family from New Mexico, everytime my uncle would visit he would bring fresh chillies from there and make me a huge pot that I could freeze. Sadly he has passed and I haven't had his chilly varde in a bout ten years. This is pretty close to his. I'm having a chilly wreath sent to me soon then I'll try again. But this was excellent. NewMexico chillies bring a little more heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mahlzahn
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Fabulous recipe!!! Roasted the peppers and added flour to pork prior to searing (not entirely sure this was necessary though). Added about four cups of broth after halving the recipe and added a little sugar. Final product? Superb!!!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe! Have saved it to my recipe box as I am sure to make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This was a good alternative to chili and more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was the first time we've tried to prepare this dish at home - and this recipe is AMAZING! Pork is so tender and full of flavor. Not too spicy. Better than most restaurants in our town. We paired it with homemade flour tortillas and refried beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
good not great. needs more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Much better than another Chile Verde recipe I've tried - tastes just like my favorite Mexican Taqueria. I did mod it a little ;-)...I added lemon juice when searing the pork, substituted red for the yellow bell pepper, 12 New Mexico Hatch chiles instead of 8 poblanos, no jalipenos, at least one less quart checken stock, 5 sliced carrots, and added one large diced potato. The tomatillos and cilantro at the end pull it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very good! I cut the tomatillos in half and out them cut side down and roasted them under the broiler to soften them and give a roasted flavor. YUMM!! I also substituted an Anaheim pepper for one of the jalapeños. Warned corn tortillas for dipping and made some Mexican rice and VOILA!! amazing dinner for the whole family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Schwartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was quite good! I would make it again. I made it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is a work intensive recipe. and the comment about the broth amount is absolutely correct. If anything I'd use 4 cups. I let this simmer then scooped off the main amount of pepper and puree'd them and put them back - then the texture was right! but the flavor was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States