Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
Good recipe, but I'm taking off two stars for a serious error in broth quantity. The error is obvious to an experienced cook, but is a trap for the unwary. I used 3 1/2 cups of stock, and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Chance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I wasn't feeding a large crowd so, lowered the amount of the ingredients. I only used 2lbs of pork browned in bacon fat, 2cups of broth, i made and used the tomatillo salsa recipe from this site and charred two very large Roma tomatoes instead of the can of tomatoes. I charred all the peppers then peeled them. I sauteed two small diced onions with 8 minced garlic cloves. I pureed everything and threw it in the slow cooker. WoW!!!! Best ever!!! It still made a lot so, I took half the sauce and froze it for enchiladas next week. The other half, I left all the meat and added 3 (sliced) potatoes and a bag of sweet frozen corn. Thee BEST chile verde stew ever!! It was A LOT of work but the flavor was out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
It is very good the recipie is spot on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I have used this recipe multiple times. I am beginning to put my own spin on it but this was great jumping off point for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have never made green chile, but this seemed like a good place to start. I cut the recipe in half. I use green chile as a dip and to smother burritos, so I started with pork for stew and cut it into even smaller pieces. While I seared the pork, I roasted all the peppers in the oven for about 20 minutes until they were charred and blistered. I took them out and put them in a plastic zipper bag to steam and then skinned and seeded them. I used a food processor on all the peppers. I cooked the onion and garlic as directed. I boiled the tomatillos in about an inch for water for 10 minutes before I pureed them. I put everything in a crock pot. Initially the recipe was a bit tart. I added the 1/2 teaspoon of sugar as recommended in Crystal's review and the tartness disappeared. I then added 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander and 1/2 teaspoon oregano. I left out the fresh cilantro as not everyone is as fond of it as I am. I did not use any chicken broth. Instead I used one heaping teaspoon of chicken soup base and added it to the crock pot. This kept the mixture from getting too thin. I took my first run at green chile to a potluck and everyone was quite impressed. This recipe is flavorful without being too spicy. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
So good! I have family from New Mexico, everytime my uncle would visit he would bring fresh chillies from there and make me a huge pot that I could freeze. Sadly he has passed and I haven't had his chilly varde in a bout ten years. This is pretty close to his. I'm having a chilly wreath sent to me soon then I'll try again. But this was excellent. NewMexico chillies bring a little more heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mahlzahn
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Fabulous recipe!!! Roasted the peppers and added flour to pork prior to searing (not entirely sure this was necessary though). Added about four cups of broth after halving the recipe and added a little sugar. Final product? Superb!!!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe! Have saved it to my recipe box as I am sure to make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This was a good alternative to chili and more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was the first time we've tried to prepare this dish at home - and this recipe is AMAZING! Pork is so tender and full of flavor. Not too spicy. Better than most restaurants in our town. We paired it with homemade flour tortillas and refried beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
good not great. needs more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States