Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Very good. We enjoyed it for a couple of days. I did find that the pork took longer to cook than recipe stated. I also used a little leftover chicken. It is pretty thin too. I used the rice the next day in the soup instead of pouring over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Very flavorful dish that needs less than two hours cooking time. As a novice cook, I made this for my anniversary and it really was a special meal, and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Really different and delicious! My husband claimed he didn't like stewed pork, but he kept digging in...The broth makes it rich. I halved the recipe, pureed the peppers and extra garlic together with the tomatillos, and added cubes of raw potato to the last simmer period because I remember being served the dish that way. I also saved some chopped cilantro and green onions to sprinkle on raw as a garnish. Great with plain rice or pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This is excellent chile verde. I agree that you can probably cut down a bit on the chicken broth and add a bit more water. It's plenty salty. The addition of potatoes is a great idea. Grab some warm tortillas and it's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Yuuuuum! This recipe was really delicious. I used extra jalapenos to make it spicy and pureed them along with the tomatillo and cilantro (and a clove of garlic). I also took out half of the broth before adding the tomatillo puree, for a thicker consistency. Thank you for this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This is one of the best recipe's I have ever had!! My Famliy and friends loved it! It is simple and easy to prepare...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
GOOD AND EASY, I USED SLOW COOKED PORK BUTT. IT TURNED OUT VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
Very tasty. I kept forgetting how good it was and then I'd have another taste.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Excellent! I scaled for 6 so as I rounded proportions it probably came out different, used 4 cloves of garlic and 3 cups broth, still a little too soupy, thickening w/corn meal would work. Rice helped absorb juice. Needed more heat, but easier to add at table than overdo for other's taste. Rich pepper flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Excellent! A big hit at my daughter's graduation party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chef John’s Parsley Salsa Verde

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States