Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Very good. We enjoyed it for a couple of days. I did find that the pork took longer to cook than recipe stated. I also used a little leftover chicken. It is pretty thin too. I used the rice the next day in the soup instead of pouring over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Very flavorful dish that needs less than two hours cooking time. As a novice cook, I made this for my anniversary and it really was a special meal, and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Delicious recipe for Chile Verde. The tomatillos do a great job of thicking it up towards the end. I used 6 cups instead of 8 cups of chicken broth -- which was more than enough. I also added some cut-up potato pieces (cubes) towards the end to make the stew a bit more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Really different and delicious! My husband claimed he didn't like stewed pork, but he kept digging in...The broth makes it rich. I halved the recipe, pureed the peppers and extra garlic together with the tomatillos, and added cubes of raw potato to the last simmer period because I remember being served the dish that way. I also saved some chopped cilantro and green onions to sprinkle on raw as a garnish. Great with plain rice or pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This is excellent chile verde. I agree that you can probably cut down a bit on the chicken broth and add a bit more water. It's plenty salty. The addition of potatoes is a great idea. Grab some warm tortillas and it's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Yuuuuum! This recipe was really delicious. I used extra jalapenos to make it spicy and pureed them along with the tomatillo and cilantro (and a clove of garlic). I also took out half of the broth before adding the tomatillo puree, for a thicker consistency. Thank you for this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This is one of the best recipe's I have ever had!! My Famliy and friends loved it! It is simple and easy to prepare...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
GOOD AND EASY, I USED SLOW COOKED PORK BUTT. IT TURNED OUT VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
My husband loves chile verde. We have a local restaurant that serves his favorite of all chile verdes. He went absolutely wild over this recipe. I will be making it many more times in the future. I do recommend to cut down on the chicken broth by at least half. I added more pickled jalapenos at the end as we love the heat . This is just too good to miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
This recipie was delicious. You would want to reduce the amount of chicken broth though it is very soupy with the amount the recipie calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States