Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
wow i never knew that this could taste so good I have had this at a Mexican place and never thought i could make this at home thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I ate a small bowl before it was finished, but for my own personal taste, I added the juice of 1/2 a lime and a can of drained black beans towards the end of cooking. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I loved this!! I'm a New Mexican now living in Texas and crave anything w/ chili!!! I used a pork tenderloin and added potato and hominy!! Used my slow cooker and had a wonderful meal for a cold winter day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is the best chile verde i've ever had, good enough to have passed it to all my recipe buddies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
The best Chile Verde recipe that i have ever made. Truly great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Italy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have always been a Verde fan, and this recipe did not disappoint. Followed recipe with the exception of using some mexican all purpose seasoning. Excellent served with warm flour tortillas and jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very good recipe. I made it great the first time and had never bought a tomatillo before in my life. My wife is mexican and even she liked it a lot. I used a lot less chicken stock (1 quart) and a little less meat, but all the chiles. Okay. I've made this a bunch of times now and I don't measure anything when I make it anymore. I like anaheim and jalapeno chiles. I made this for fun at a rib cook off and had an international chili judge tell me that this is the real deal! One tip. You have to fire roast your chiles and your tomatillos. Adds great flavor. My family loves this recipe and I've gotten to where I feel like I really know what I'm doing. Thanks allrecipes.com. This is the best dish I make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is the first time I've tried making Chile Verde with pork. The meat was tender and delicious but I missed the savory flavor of beef - it was as though "something" was missing. I intend to go half beef and half pork next time I make this...and yes, I will definitely make this again. The combination of peppers and chil1es were outstanding. I also added several freshly roasted, peeled and diced green chilies which turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I add 12 oz of beer instead of the chicken stock. This gives the fermented taste this recipe calls for. The alcohol cooks off. Serve with warm tortillas, sour cream, guaz, cheese, pico de gallo. A great finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is my all-time favorite thing to eat in the world. I do it in the crock pot so I don't have to keep an eye on it as closely. I just brown the meat, then cook the onions and garlic and put it in the crock pot with only 2 cans of broth. The recipe calls for way too much. Then I throw all the peppers in the food processor and throw them in the crock pot along with the spices (I add 1 tbsp chili powder). After the pork is tender I add the tomatillos and cilantro and give it another couple of hours. I also add about 1 tsp of garlic salt if it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States