Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is great. Just a little side note, be careful after cutting up all of the pepper not to touch your face or eyes...they are not really hot enough to burn your mouth, but hot enough to burn your skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I am sure this is not the recipe's fault, but there was something way off for me. My husband and I decided it was actually the flavor of the tomitillos. However, I would be willing to try the recipe with red tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Awesome Recipe. I made it with beef instead of pork, reduced for 8 servings and it came out wonderfully. Only needed 5 cups of broth instead of the 7 the reduced recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I roasted the peppers and tomatillos for about 12-15 minutes at 400 degrees to soften them up. To "chop" the peppers and jalapenos I threw them in the food processor, but made sure they didn't get blended. I coated the pork in flour before browning it so the sauce would be a bit thicker in the end. I threw it all in a crockpot and let it cook on low overnight. I ended up using maybe 2-3 cups of chicken broth - just enough to give it a little sauce. It filled up my huge crockpot almost to the top! I think the amount of chicken broth this recipe calls for would be way too much. I left out the cilantro, but definitely regretted it. It was good - just not as flavorful as it could be. Make sure you use a fatty cut of pork as it is better that way. And next time I am not going to seed the jalapenos. It hardly had any heat to it for my taste. Overall a tasty chile verde recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Delicious! Followed the directions exactly and everyone (including a pretty picky four year old) LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I've made this recipe several times and as far as I'm concerned it's the best version of chile verde I've ever tried. In the winter, I've used frozen peppers and canned tomatilloes and the recipe is just as good as when I can use fresh ingredients. If you're looking for a great tasting, authentic, chile verde recipe, look no further, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was a new experience for me! I have never even tasted Chile Verde before, let alone make it myself. I don't know what's "authentic" and what's not or how it's supposed to look or taste. After a little research and after reading some of the reviews, I gave this a shot. First, I roasted the tomatillos, jalapenos and poblanos at 400* for 12 minutes, then pureed them in the food processor. I dredged the meat in flour, browned it, added the chopped onion, yellow bell peppers and garlic. Deglazed the pan with 1/4 of the amount of chicken broth called for (given so many reviews indicating there was far too much broth in the recipe). I put everything in the slow cooker along with the cumin, and Mexican oregano, salt, pepper and chopped, fresh cilantro to taste. My plan was to serve this in tortillas with sliced avocado and queso fresco, but this was still just too liquidy for that. Alternatively, the thought of eating what was essentially a stew of pork and tomatillos with a bowl and spoon didn't appeal to me either. So, authentic or not, I added a can of cannellini beans (white kidney beans) for the recipe scaled down to 4 servings and 1-1/4# of meat. Now I had something! The beans definitely gave it substance, interest and texture, and appealed to my ingrained "there's got to be beans if it's chili" way of thinking! This was tasty enough, but maybe just too different for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
wow i never knew that this could taste so good I have had this at a Mexican place and never thought i could make this at home thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I ate a small bowl before it was finished, but for my own personal taste, I added the juice of 1/2 a lime and a can of drained black beans towards the end of cooking. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I loved this!! I'm a New Mexican now living in Texas and crave anything w/ chili!!! I used a pork tenderloin and added potato and hominy!! Used my slow cooker and had a wonderful meal for a cold winter day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States