Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I was expecting great things from this recipes given all the reviews. I was disappointed. While the pork was tender and yummy, the verde sauce was lacking in flavor and heat. I may try the recipe again, only next time I will leave some of the seeds from the jalapenos in it and maybe use a different green pepper all together. One with some heat to it. I am so glad that I didn't use the amount of chicken broth the recipe calls for. It would have been so runny if I had. I think I only used about a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nennyz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
this is a family favorite!! We eat it over a bowl of rice so that you can save the juices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This chile verde is phenomenal! I don't dredge the meat in flour prior to cooking and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Disappointing. But I should have realized that most of the people who gave it 3+ stars made MAJOR revisions to the recipe. As written, it is way to watery. Gives new meaning to "soup". As a result, I had to add flour to thicken it, and this just dilutes the taste. The result is very bland, and like I said, disappointing. Rather than making a ton of revisions to make this better, I'd look for another recipe. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Awesome. Easy to make, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
The closest chile verde recipe I have found outside a restaurant. It was watery and a little sharp so I added one teaspoon of sugar to cut the tartness. Much better - but that's a personal preference. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Pretty good. I'd omitted the yellow peppers and used cubanelles instead as I could not find poblano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
It was good, I read some of the reviews and cut the broth down by half and it was still too watery! I added some cornstartch to thicken it up, and that helped. I made it for Christmas and everyone said it was so good, I think that's because they never tasted my mother in laws, I'm just going to have to break down and ask her for her recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
wonderful alone or with cheddar and tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I'm rating this 4 stars b/c you do not need the broth! I used NO broth at all. I broiled the peppers, onions, and tomatillos until browned and blended them in the blender with the cilantro, cumin, garlic and salt. Then I poured it over a pork loin and let it cook on low in the crockpot for 9 hours. When it was done, it was still very watery so I thickened it. The flavor was excellent and the pork was falling apart. I shredded it and used it to stuff tamales. Unless you want it soupy, there's no need for broth since there's plenty of liquid with the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States