Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Pretty good. I'd omitted the yellow peppers and used cubanelles instead as I could not find poblano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
It was good, I read some of the reviews and cut the broth down by half and it was still too watery! I added some cornstartch to thicken it up, and that helped. I made it for Christmas and everyone said it was so good, I think that's because they never tasted my mother in laws, I'm just going to have to break down and ask her for her recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
wonderful alone or with cheddar and tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I'm rating this 4 stars b/c you do not need the broth! I used NO broth at all. I broiled the peppers, onions, and tomatillos until browned and blended them in the blender with the cilantro, cumin, garlic and salt. Then I poured it over a pork loin and let it cook on low in the crockpot for 9 hours. When it was done, it was still very watery so I thickened it. The flavor was excellent and the pork was falling apart. I shredded it and used it to stuff tamales. Unless you want it soupy, there's no need for broth since there's plenty of liquid with the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
So good. Boiling the tomatillo and chiles is a great idea. Was so good my 15 year old son who only likes cheeseburgers loves it! (Dredging the pork in flour is also a plus!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made another batch of Chile Verde using this recipe, however I made a few important changes which resulted in an almost perfect dish. First I precooked all of the chiles and the bell pepper in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes and then chopped and seeded them. Second I reduced the amount of chicken broth to two fourteen oz cans. I also added one additional pound to the meat which really added to the overall flavor. I also used a cup of shredded potatoes to thicken the sauce. I simmered the whole batch three hours. The end result was very good but more suited to a bowl than a plate. If I were to use this recipe to make burritos I would only used one can of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Man this stuff was EXCELLENT!!!! It's honestly on the verge of being the best I've had so far!! The left overs are even better!!! The only recommendation I have is use Debra's review. Follow what she did and you can't go wrong. She review it on July 6th. Trust me, her suggestions are perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was unbelievably good - definitely spicy! Made it again and not nearly as spicy, all you have to do is leave out the seeds of the peppers. Next time, I will leave one set of seeds in to give it a bit more. Used about 3 pounds of pork, could use a little less next time. 3 cans of broth and let it cook down for a while so maybe only 2 cans next time. I always roast the peppers and tomatillos, really adds some good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a very good chile verde recipe! We like our food hot so I don't seed the jalapenos. I made use of the roasting the tomatillos tip and it was great! I've tried it in both the crock pot and as the recipe called. Both are good, but the crock pot really brings the flavors together since it cooks so much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Let me preface this by saying I've never had Chili Verde before. My friend came over with a couple of pounds of Tomatillos and I looked for a recipe to use them :o) As I said before I don't know what it's supposed to taste like but this was pretty great *sluurrp*! I cut my pork butt into steaks, rubbed them with liquid smoke, granulated garlic, onion powder, course salt and white pepper. Then I barbequed them on the grill until medium and cubed them when cooled. While I was grilling the steaks I also roasted my Poblano and Bell peppers. After they were all nicely roasted I put them into a bag to sweat. I then removed the seeds and skin and chopped them. I also blanched the Tomatillos and Jalapeños for a couple of minutes then (and this is where I made my Verde rookie mistake) I blended them, without seeding the Jalapeños! Certainly yielded a hotter finished product. I reserved the blanching water and used it to make my chicken stock (which I only made 12 cups of). Even with reducing the amount of stock it was still a little runny for me so in the last 10 minutes of cooking I removed 2 cups of liquid from the chili to which I whisked in 2 TBS of flour, then whisked it back into the Chili Verde. Perfect consistency in my opinion (but then again what do I know :o) ). I'm taking some to my Mexican friend, see if he likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States