Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Wow! My husband and I both loved this at first bite. I tried to follow the recipe exactly (I forgot to add the cilantro, but will do it with the leftovers) except for cutting the broth in half, using a green bell pepper, and scaling the recipe down to 4 servings. The tomatillos thickened the stew up beautifully. I had previously tried Bianca's Green Chile Pork from this site, in an effort to replace a recipe I'd gotten from Sunset Magazine many years ago, but this recipe will replace it in my recipe book. It amazes me how a few simple ingredients can combine to such a perfect flavor. This is exactly the recipe I was looking for and it will become a regular in our meal line-up. Thanks, Clare, for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe would be good if it had the correct amount of broth, it's suppose to be 4 1/2 cups not 4 1/2 quarts. This is suppose to be thick like a stew or gravy instead it's like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kidnkorner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I have made this twice now. DH loves this dish. I don't measure most of the stuff. Added fewer poblanos and more jalapeno just what ever I had in the refer. One time I made it in the crock pot second time on the stove top. Served over rice or mashed spuds. Topped with cilantro and a squeeze of lime. I am a hero now! Edit: I also added a large can of green chiles. Can't wait to try the version from the last two posters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I had never tried chili verde before. It doesn't taste as much like a traditional chili con carne as I thought it would, but once I got used to the taste of the tomatillos I really liked it. I cut the recipe in half and cut up some pork chops for the "stew meat". It tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I grilled a 4-lb pork roast & was looking for something to do with the leftovers, when I saw this. I roasted the bell & all of the other peppers & the tomatillos & pureed them with the cilantro before adding to the pot. I also added roasted tomatoes. It got rave reviews in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delicious. I started out trying to duplicate the "smothered" sauce from our favorite smothered burrito place. This isn't it, but it is delicious! (I think more green chile and less tomatillo would do it.) A perfect New Mexicoan chile verde. (Oh how I miss the food in Albuquerque.) I followed the recipe almost exactly. My market only had 3 poblanos and I couldn't get my mind around bell peppers, so I ended up using the 3 poblanos plus about 12 Anaheims. I also used 6 jalapenos, since they were really small. The main difference, though, was that I roasted everything first. I roasted the chiles so I could peel them. (I hate the plastic-y bits of peel that you find in your food after you cook raw peppers and the flavor is SO much better.) Then I cut the tomatillos in half, put them cut side down on a cookie sheet and baked them until they kind of exploded and collapsed. They're a richer and deeper flavor if you roast them first. Also, the cilantro I bought was kind of gross, so I ended up using only about a third of the bunch. Cubing up the pork shoulder was a huge pain, so I think I'll use a leaner cut in the future - maybe some thin-cut chops? Easier to cube and way less fat. I left the whole thing simmering while we went to a party and I think I'll always cook it a long time in the future, so the leaner cut shouldn't end up tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is like my favorite recipe in the world....I have made it many times & I dont change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Amazing recipe! We subsituted the poblanos for sarano peppers and added a habanero for some spice and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I was expecting great things from this recipes given all the reviews. I was disappointed. While the pork was tender and yummy, the verde sauce was lacking in flavor and heat. I may try the recipe again, only next time I will leave some of the seeds from the jalapenos in it and maybe use a different green pepper all together. One with some heat to it. I am so glad that I didn't use the amount of chicken broth the recipe calls for. It would have been so runny if I had. I think I only used about a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nennyz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
this is a family favorite!! We eat it over a bowl of rice so that you can save the juices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chef John’s Parsley Salsa Verde

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States