Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe! I do use beef instead of pork but that is just a personal preference. I leave this simmering for a few hours to get the flavors really going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is the best chile verde I have ever had. It is perfect with sour cream and a tortilla!! Next time, less broth/water... maybe 1/2 of what it calls for. I wasn't real exact with the recipe, just sauted what it called for and just added as stuff was ready. So delicious!! Hubby said this was better than ANY restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I cut this recipe in half (made 10 servings) and made Chili Verde for the first time. For my first attempt it turned out great. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did however add double the cilantro and garlic. Next time though I will make a couple changes. 1. I will add more pork 2. simmer the pork longer. 3. cut the pork into smaller pieces than the approx. 1 inch cubes I did last time. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is the best Chile Verdi I ever had, including a restaurant in Santa Fe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is the only recipe I will use. It comes out perfect every time. I don't change a thing except for the jalapenos I only use a couple or a serano..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Did not follow the recipe, but turned out well. I did not have a lot of things on hand, but I used Verde sauce instead of fresh tomatillos and chicken thighs vs. pork. Still tastes quite yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Designer Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was good. I did find it a bit thin so I created a roux with the liquid and some four and it thickened up nicely. I was expecting this to be spicy, but it wasn't at all. Next time I will probably add more jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
We loved this and are definately making again! Followed original recipe and it turned out super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKLisaK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
used Anaheims instead of yellow peppers - roasted & de-skinned all peppers before pureeing with the tomatillos & cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavinSunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
The flavor was perfect. Next time I would not add quite as much chicken broth as it was way to much. Chile Verde should be thick. I also floured the meat before I seared it. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States