Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Better the next day! Also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The recipe was slightly bland. I added the juice of a whole lime and less chicken stock, which made the flavor have more of a tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana from Murrieta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I loved this.I like how easy it was even in a crockpot.next time I will do it with a homemade verde sauce verse jarred. I put mine on corn tortillas with fresh cilantro, queso fresco and lime juice. Was so so good! Using leftovers for chimichangas.Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Sunday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very good. I used roasted green chiles from my freezer in place of the 3 types peppers. Made it for a group and it would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made this one tonight, everyone LOVED it!!! Wife said this this is a keeper! I cut the recipe down to 8 servings, perfect for a little leftovers with 4 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Very good but a lot of work. I do not make this too often because of the work involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwhee29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Loved this meal. Really enjoyed a green sauce for a change. Very flavoursome, excellent with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I quartered the broth as many mentioned in their reviews. I will say that perhaps chile verde doesn't have the same meaning to everyone and surely some prefer it as written. I wanted it to make burritos/tacos so thicker was good. The sauce had really good flavor and the pork took about 2 hours to be fork tender. I did turn down the heat after searing the pork to saute the vegetables and then simmered on low for the rest of the cook time. The recipe didn't indicate to ever turn it down from high heat. The flavor was milder than I expected so I wouldn't be afraid to use the full amount of peppers. Definitely a keeper, but the instructions are a little unclear. I thought about pureeing the peppers with the tomatillos but am glad I didn't. I think it would have removed some of the layering of the flavors. We used this in tacos and breakfast burritos and also as a main with colorado mexican rice. Good all ways. Flavor was a five as I made it but wouldn't have worked for us as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very good recipe. Very similar to the green chili we would got in Colorado. Great for smothering burritos or for huevos rancheros. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
this is a great recipe. however I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 stars due to the directions state to just dice of the peppers and put them in to cook. there is no way for the peppers to cook down enough in the time this cooks for them to be appealing. I ended up roasting them with the tomatillos and still had to fish them out after they were diced and put in to cook because they still just weren't cooking down. I fished them out and blended the majority and put them back in. from now on I will roast all of the veggies. blend the tomatillo and garlic and then all the other peppers and add them. It has a really great flavor. Oh and the amount of broth in the recipe is way too much. I would start out with 1/4 - 1/2 of that then add more if you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States