Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I scaled it to serve 6, just a little watery, next time slightly less chicken broth. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This was a really good recipe, it smelt like an authentic mexican resteraunt in our house. It could have used some more spice though, a little bland for our taste, I will have to try and throw some green tabsco like a another reviewer suggested, but very good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I was begging for it when I made this--this is a family treasure at the in-laws and this is not the way they make it. First time I served it to them, I got cool looks and lukewarm comments. I heard later that the left overs where gone by morning and no one would admit to eating all of it. Next time I was Told to bring The Other Verde (as this is now known as) and everyone is quite exultant to see this come through the door (inlaw G'ma took me aside and said "not bad for an Anglo"), so a Big Thank You, Clara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Simply the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
WOW!!!!!!!! This was great just like I get when we out to the Mexican restaraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
very authentic recipe. Can't wait to amke it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This was very good! Although I don't understand where everyone else had too much sauce; mine didn't have enough! Maybe because I scaled the recipe down to serve 4. Next time I'll do different. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I loved this recipe. I am mexican and usually do my own chile verde but wanted to see how others differ. I seared the pork then removed to sear the onions/garlic/cumin powder. meanwhile, boiled the tomatillos/jalepenos till tender. then put in blender on hi for bout' 2-3minutes. pour mixture into onion/garlic/cumin and bring to a slight boil then return the seared pork. Absolutely delicious. DONT FORGET to add small amts of salt and black pepper to all three steps! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTHEROF4BIGEATERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Very good. I made this recipe for 10 people. I only added 4 cups of broth and I added the juice from one lime. I did let this recipe simmer for about 3 hours so the pork was very tender. I only added about 1/4 of the cilantro as we are not big on cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Very,very good. After simmering all the peppers together with the chicken stock, pork, ect. I removed and pureed the majority of the peppers along with the (canned) tomatillos and cilantro. This puree along with a dash of cayenne pepper added to the pot made a thick satisfying dinner when served over rice with sour cream and a twist of lime. Better than what we are served at our local Mexican food eatery.Thank you Clare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States