Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was delicious! The flavor was just right and it was mild enough for my kids to eat. I give only 4 stars because the recipe calls for far too much broth. It took much longer for me to make this because I needed to cook it down on high heat, otherwise it would have been soup. I will definitely make this again but with only half the broth called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Very nice stuff - the family raved about it at tonight's dinner - better than an restaurant Chili Verde I've had! Not spicy at all which give you the option to add more heat as you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Albackore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Rivers, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
my husband made this and it was delicious. we served a party of 6 adults and 6 kids and it was a hit. the next morning i had it over eggs... muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This Recipe is great! It pleased two very picky Mexican Food Eaters! My sister from Las Vegas who eats out everywhere and my husband who hates anything non-authentic. No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very very good! I did as suggested and reduced the broth in half and cooked for 4 hours in my slow-cooker. This recipe has been added to my monthly rotation as my children enjoyed it just as much as the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaBuddha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe has a good flavor but no heat or taste of roasted peppers, no kick. I have made Chili Verde for years, and I wanted to try this easier version since mine takes 24 hours before the full flavor takes it's form. For those of you who like the roasted chili flavor, I suggest you at least put them in the oven and roast, let the skin bubble and take out of the oven rest for 5 minutes. Peel the skin off. If not all of the skin comes off it may be under-cooked. Make sure not to over roast though. If you like heat add as much heat as you like. This version is very mild, even with the peppers. Happy eating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
OMG. We loved this. We over-ate because it was so delicious. I modified the recipe a lot ONLY due to personal preference. First, we changed to 10 servings since there are only two of us. Then, we added more jalapenos (6 total), more cumin, and a lot more cilantro. In addition, I ONLY used 4 cups of chicken broth when the recipe called for 9 cups (it calls for 9 cups if you 1/2 the recipe). FANTASTIC. Absolutely 100% one of our favorites. 10*'s if I could give it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I agree with other reviewers. There's too much broth in the recipe as written. With modifications, however, this is a definite make-again. I could only fit about 9 cups of broth in my pot, and I wish I'd only used 6 for four pounds of meat. The only other thing I changed was the amount of tomatillos -- I couldn't find 3lb of decent ones. This recipe works with chicken, and though it isn't the traditional Chile Verde that way, it's pretty tasty. I can also envision making a slightly less rustic sauce by removing the meat as directed, cooking the peppers and tomatillos into the onions, garlic and seasonings, blending with an immersion blender, and THEN adding the meat back, adding broth and simmering awhile. At any rate, we liked this a lot, and will use our modified version of it over and over. Thanks, Clare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is pretty good. I only bought one poblano pepper, didn't see that I needed two after I changed the recipe to six. 20 was way too large! I had to sub a green pepper. Don't know how much it affected the flavor. As far as seasoning, I felt it was missing something. I ran out of fresh cilantro and used a bit of corriander (since it comes from the same plant-just stronger flavor and a bit tangier), I also added a 1/2 tblspn of lime juice. I think next time I make it I will buy 2 pablanos and see what the difference is. I also added more hot peppers, soranos, and more jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I would give this recipe a 5, but because I had to change it because of items I had on hand I won't. I did not have but 3 pounds of pork meat so I added 3 pounds of cubed flank beef steak to the pork. I blistered the Poblano chile peppers and peeled the outer skin. I also added Hatch long green chili's - about 3 chopped. I added a can of beer in place of 12 ounces of some of the chicken broth. I also added cubed potatoes. Other than that I followed the recipe. I did cook it slow for at least 10 hours. It is wonderful. Thanks Clare for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States