Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
good not great. needs more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Much better than another Chile Verde recipe I've tried - tastes just like my favorite Mexican Taqueria. I did mod it a little ;-)...I added lemon juice when searing the pork, substituted red for the yellow bell pepper, 12 New Mexico Hatch chiles instead of 8 poblanos, no jalipenos, at least one less quart checken stock, 5 sliced carrots, and added one large diced potato. The tomatillos and cilantro at the end pull it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very good! I cut the tomatillos in half and out them cut side down and roasted them under the broiler to soften them and give a roasted flavor. YUMM!! I also substituted an Anaheim pepper for one of the jalapeños. Warned corn tortillas for dipping and made some Mexican rice and VOILA!! amazing dinner for the whole family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Schwartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was quite good! I would make it again. I made it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is a work intensive recipe. and the comment about the broth amount is absolutely correct. If anything I'd use 4 cups. I let this simmer then scooped off the main amount of pepper and puree'd them and put them back - then the texture was right! but the flavor was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Better the next day! Also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The recipe was slightly bland. I added the juice of a whole lime and less chicken stock, which made the flavor have more of a tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana from Murrieta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I loved this.I like how easy it was even in a crockpot.next time I will do it with a homemade verde sauce verse jarred. I put mine on corn tortillas with fresh cilantro, queso fresco and lime juice. Was so so good! Using leftovers for chimichangas.Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very good. I used roasted green chiles from my freezer in place of the 3 types peppers. Made it for a group and it would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made this one tonight, everyone LOVED it!!! Wife said this this is a keeper! I cut the recipe down to 8 servings, perfect for a little leftovers with 4 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States