Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
good not great. needs more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Much better than another Chile Verde recipe I've tried - tastes just like my favorite Mexican Taqueria. I did mod it a little ;-)...I added lemon juice when searing the pork, substituted red for the yellow bell pepper, 12 New Mexico Hatch chiles instead of 8 poblanos, no jalipenos, at least one less quart checken stock, 5 sliced carrots, and added one large diced potato. The tomatillos and cilantro at the end pull it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very good! I cut the tomatillos in half and out them cut side down and roasted them under the broiler to soften them and give a roasted flavor. YUMM!! I also substituted an Anaheim pepper for one of the jalapeños. Warned corn tortillas for dipping and made some Mexican rice and VOILA!! amazing dinner for the whole family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Schwartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was quite good! I would make it again. I made it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is a work intensive recipe. and the comment about the broth amount is absolutely correct. If anything I'd use 4 cups. I let this simmer then scooped off the main amount of pepper and puree'd them and put them back - then the texture was right! but the flavor was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Better the next day! Also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The recipe was slightly bland. I added the juice of a whole lime and less chicken stock, which made the flavor have more of a tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana from Murrieta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I loved this.I like how easy it was even in a crockpot.next time I will do it with a homemade verde sauce verse jarred. I put mine on corn tortillas with fresh cilantro, queso fresco and lime juice. Was so so good! Using leftovers for chimichangas.Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very good. I used roasted green chiles from my freezer in place of the 3 types peppers. Made it for a group and it would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made this one tonight, everyone LOVED it!!! Wife said this this is a keeper! I cut the recipe down to 8 servings, perfect for a little leftovers with 4 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States