Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mahlzahn
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Fabulous recipe!!! Roasted the peppers and added flour to pork prior to searing (not entirely sure this was necessary though). Added about four cups of broth after halving the recipe and added a little sugar. Final product? Superb!!!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe! Have saved it to my recipe box as I am sure to make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This was a good alternative to chili and more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was the first time we've tried to prepare this dish at home - and this recipe is AMAZING! Pork is so tender and full of flavor. Not too spicy. Better than most restaurants in our town. We paired it with homemade flour tortillas and refried beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
good not great. needs more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Much better than another Chile Verde recipe I've tried - tastes just like my favorite Mexican Taqueria. I did mod it a little ;-)...I added lemon juice when searing the pork, substituted red for the yellow bell pepper, 12 New Mexico Hatch chiles instead of 8 poblanos, no jalipenos, at least one less quart checken stock, 5 sliced carrots, and added one large diced potato. The tomatillos and cilantro at the end pull it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very good! I cut the tomatillos in half and out them cut side down and roasted them under the broiler to soften them and give a roasted flavor. YUMM!! I also substituted an Anaheim pepper for one of the jalapeños. Warned corn tortillas for dipping and made some Mexican rice and VOILA!! amazing dinner for the whole family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Schwartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was quite good! I would make it again. I made it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is a work intensive recipe. and the comment about the broth amount is absolutely correct. If anything I'd use 4 cups. I let this simmer then scooped off the main amount of pepper and puree'd them and put them back - then the texture was right! but the flavor was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Better the next day! Also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The recipe was slightly bland. I added the juice of a whole lime and less chicken stock, which made the flavor have more of a tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana from Murrieta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States