Chile Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I really liked this recipe. Thanks Michelle. I always try recipes on this website AS IS FIRST. While the "as is" recipe is great, being from New Mexico, I KNOW chile. The second time I prepared this dish, I added 3 diced, fully cooked chicken breasts, seasoned the soup with a minced garlic clove and added fresh cracked pepper, and 1/3 cup minced shallot. The result, YUUUUMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I agree with another reviewer who said this was a bit bland. It was good, but definitely lacked something. I may make this again and try a few additions. This doesn't make my definitely a keeper list though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
3 c. cooked rice, can of celery soup, diced green chiles, 1 c. Monterey Jack Cheese, 1 c. sour cream. Combine and bake, garnish with chives. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this is so tasty and easy! Great for RV camping too! Everyone enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe more than I did. It was so easy to make that it would have been a nice go-to meal. Unfortunately, it was very bland. I tried a few different spices and cumin seemed to help give it what it needed but it still fell short on flavor. If I made this agian I would definitely add a second can of green chile peppers, cumin and a secret ingredient that would make all the flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I used cream of mushroom soup and doubled the recipe. It was delicious although the sour cream was almost a bit too much. I might try cutting that back next time however I suspect the rice needs that extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is wonderful... I made a few changes: used white rice and cooked it first and cream of mushroom and it turned out prefect. I served it with lime chicken ~Yum~ This is a quick side dish that the whole family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Harris-McCay

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was ok. I think next time I'll try cream of mushroom soup, the celery taste overpowered everything else. I used brown rice, 98% fat free soup, and fat free sour cream to make this healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I made this for my 3 teenage boys. They really liked it. I thought it was ok, but a little bland. Might be better with some added garlic & other seasonings. Will make again for the kiddos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I have made this at least 5 times since the first time I tried this. I do add more cheese and even some cream cheese and use cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic. It's wonderful!! (modifications is why I only rated this 4 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States