Chile Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I didn't have the chili peppers so added chopped pickled Peperoncini. Delicious! Won't make it any other way. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Wonderful simple recipe. Used cream of mushroom and added fresh mushrooms followed rest exact. Delicious. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is a good basic recipe that I like to tweak a little. I never use instant rice, because it lacks flavor and firm texture. I like to use a parboiled or converted type of rice. Jasmine would work too. I cook it first, and then add all of the other ingredients. A can of cheddar cheese soup works well in this recipe too along with the extra cheese. I use a larger sized can of green chilies as well. I used a bunch of minced up poblano peppers I grew in my garden this past summer as well. I had to add some sautéed onion and garlic in butter as well. Adding half the amount of sour cream will work too. Add some water to the recipe so it has a creamer consistency instead of it getting too congealed or sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I really liked this recipe. Thanks Michelle. I always try recipes on this website AS IS FIRST. While the "as is" recipe is great, being from New Mexico, I KNOW chile. The second time I prepared this dish, I added 3 diced, fully cooked chicken breasts, seasoned the soup with a minced garlic clove and added fresh cracked pepper, and 1/3 cup minced shallot. The result, YUUUUMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I agree with another reviewer who said this was a bit bland. It was good, but definitely lacked something. I may make this again and try a few additions. This doesn't make my definitely a keeper list though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
3 c. cooked rice, can of celery soup, diced green chiles, 1 c. Monterey Jack Cheese, 1 c. sour cream. Combine and bake, garnish with chives. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this is so tasty and easy! Great for RV camping too! Everyone enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe more than I did. It was so easy to make that it would have been a nice go-to meal. Unfortunately, it was very bland. I tried a few different spices and cumin seemed to help give it what it needed but it still fell short on flavor. If I made this agian I would definitely add a second can of green chile peppers, cumin and a secret ingredient that would make all the flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I used cream of mushroom soup and doubled the recipe. It was delicious although the sour cream was almost a bit too much. I might try cutting that back next time however I suspect the rice needs that extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is wonderful... I made a few changes: used white rice and cooked it first and cream of mushroom and it turned out prefect. I served it with lime chicken ~Yum~ This is a quick side dish that the whole family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Harris-McCay

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States