Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I used some of the recommendantions from other reviews. I used poblano peppers instead of anaheim because we like our stuff spicy. I beat the egg white until fluffy then folded in the yolk and added to the batter. The coating came out so perfectly crunchy and light! I sat the chiles on some spanish vermicelli with salsa and put a dollop of sour cream on top of the chile. This was absolutely fantastic. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Note: Use gloves, these peppers have oils that will linger. I followed the recommendation of another, by beating the whites then adding the beaten yolk. I don't know if it's needed or not, but I broke a toothpick in half to secure the seam and pulled it out before serving. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I really, really like cheese, but these rellenos needed something else to break up the cheese. I would make this again, but add maybe toasted walnuts for a vegetarian feast or shrimp for my meat eating friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I just got finished making them.... They are great... I was afraid it would be to Puffy... Made them before like a fried egg plant... These are Very Good also..... Will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Hubby was kind enough to help roast peppers this year, so I had to make his favorite. Normally, I cook these in a cast iron skill, but since the deep fryer was already out, I decided to use it instead. Probably wasn't one of my better ideas. I made a bigger mess than it was worth and they didn't fry up as nice as they would in a skillet. The only thing that I don't like about this recipe is the cheddar cheese. In my opinion, rellenos are best with a Monterey Jack or Pepper Jack if you like extra heat. What I do like about this recipe is the batter. It's a heavy, pancake like batter. As soon as it hits the skillet, it puffs and seals quickly so the cheese doesn't ooze all over which is one of the tricky and often frustrating aspects of making rellenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
LOVE this recipe, was exactly what I was hoping for. I did whip the egg whites before combining with remaining ingredients. Made my 2nd attempt at Chili Relleno the RECIPE FOR ME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I give this 4.5 stars, but my husband said it was 'scrumptious' so I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Loved the base of the recipe just changed the pepper to sweet long peppers(broiled) and added hamburger meat to the stuffing and cilantro to the batter topped with salsa and sour cream. I too found it better than eating out because the last time I ate this at a restaurant the peppers tasted like they were in the freezer way too long. Fresh is best. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
The first time I used this recipe, I made about 25 Chile Relleno's for my family and friends and they loved it, and NO left overs. When I ask them what everyone wanted for Christmas dinner, everyone said please make the Chile Relleno's. Hands down this is the best recipe. I won't be using another recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Easy to make! The way I like to cook and did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States