Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
A truly rich and delicious side dish or main dish with a Mexican flair. Fresh roasted chile is best, but canned green chile works too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
This is wonderful! We love Chili Rellenos and this recipe was very close to authentic. I subed mexican cheese (found at most grocery stores in the cheese section) and served with a homemade sauce given to me by a friend (it is his mothers enchilada sauce recipe). Truely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
Excellent my woman loves it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
You should be aware to cut the peppers, with a slit along the side. They were very good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Big mess, very greasy, not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I absolutely love mexican food (hubby is not a big fan, but he is out), & I order chile rellenos every time we go out to my favorite cantina (hubby gets "shrimp cocktail"....yep thats right an appetizer). I took a pass on the chedder cheese, (subbing manchego) and regret cutting the top off of the pepper (I used pablano) because by doing that, it made it somewhat of a "grease scoop", I would suggest slitting it on the side, carefully removing the seeds & then stuffing them. I just didn't like this fried. I liked the batter, it was very tasty, but I'll either micro steam them or just leave it to my buddies at the resturant to treat me right. Thank Panchita ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I loved it but was I suppose to boil or roast peppers before peeling?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This dish was fantastic. My boyfriend wanted seconds and even thirds. I used the canned whole chiles and added monterey jack in with the cheddar. It turned out very well. The only downside was that the batter made a huge mess afterward. Oh well, that's what 409 is for. I will be making this one again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I just made this, and my husband and I both love it. I have always loved the chile rellenos in a particular Mexican buffet style restaurant in Houston, but couldn't find them made that way anywhere else. This recipe is the closest I've had. I made only one small change...I used Pepper Jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
this recipe sounds really good, only i think substituting the cheddar for jack cheese would be much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States