Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I'm spoiled I guess... I've lived in Southern California all my life, and love Mexican food of all types. For me, Anaheim peppers are too mild, and I'll go for the Poblano any day (and who said Poblanos were "screaming hot"? They're pretty mild...) So, I used Poblanos, of course. These were not too difficult to make (time intensive, yes. Difficult? No) but the result was not worth the effort for me when I can easily go buy really good rellenos. I'm used to a softer batter - not the crispy, fried-fish like texture of these. Done with good cheese though, they are a reasonable substitute if you just can't get to decent Mexican food. While I enjoyed these, they were not what I was expecting from a Relleno. They got three stars because they were still quite tasty, and had I not been expecting a specific result, I would have loved them. Definitely worth doing for fun and a taste of Mexico if you're just dying for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer & Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Peacock
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
You must use "Big Jims" to get the proper flavor/spice/taste. That is the long skinny green chile. These were very rich! We only needed two a piece with a side of black beans and rice for a VERY filling meal. For the batter I used 4 eggs, separated. Whipped the whites and then blended the yolks separately with 1 TBSP of flour and some salt and then whip into the whites. Dip the chiles into some flour and then into the batter and place seam side down into the pan. Yum, yum but I still prefer the local hole in the wall chile rellenos and much less work when someone else makes them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Peacock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Ok, so maybe I really messed this one up. I mean it was so messy making them. So time consuming and oily to boot! I had big expectations, read all the reviews for guidance and maybe this just isn't my area... I really had my hands full with this one and it worn me out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This recipe was easy but charing them was very time consuming,they didn't look like the chile rellenos I'm youst to, so I didn't know if they where going to taste right, I served them with red sauce and every one said they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambi.S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I stuffed the chiles with the seafood mixture from the "Seafood Enchiladas" SUBMITTED BY: Cathy and my brothers Loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Yummy...I had to use less dry ingredients (once they were combined) than was called for, but they came out great!! My husband loved them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYLINK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
We live nowhere near any Mexican restaurants, so it has been over a year since I've had a chile relleno! I was reallly craving them! My husband is allergic to eggs, so I had to modify the recipe slightly by using egg-replacer. I was hoping these would still turn out somewhat fluffy, but no luck. The batter was more like wnat you have on the fish in "fish n' chips". Still I was happy to have something resembling chile rellenos! The recipe was a lot of work, and if I lived anywhere remotely near somewhere that served chile rellenos, I would not spend the effort to make these. But at least they satisfied my craving and my husband got to try a chile relleno for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Back in NY for several years after 18 years of living in Los Angeles left me craving my beloved Chile Rellenos! This recipe was very good and I will definitely use it again! I used Cacique Ranchero cheese instead of cheddar and I would have preferred screaming hot Poblano Chile peppers if I could only find them here! Muchas Gracious Panchita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: East Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I was a little dissapointed with the batter as it did not turn out "poufy" like the chile rellenos I am used to. However, my friend from Mexico loved them. I did substitute muenster cheese for the cheddar, which turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I'm not a big relleno lover but hubby is & he gave these 4 stars. We used a mexican blend of cheese instaed of cheddar & added some well seasoned ground beef. We did a Mexican theme night & started the meal off w/ Grilled Poblano Pepper and Mango Quesadillas & Banana Margeritas. Then we served the Rellenos w/ Easy 'Charro' Beans, warm corn tortillas w/ butter & Margarita Cake for dessert...very enjoyable dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States