Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
My husband loved these and told me I could make them every week. They really are good. I did take the advise of other reviewers and beat the egg whites separate then folded them into the rest of the batter. It made the batter nice and fluffy. Also, I used Jack cheese as I prefer rellenos with a white cheese, otherwise I followed the recipe. The best salsa to use with these is "Tomatillo Salsa Verde" submitted by Kimberly. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAUTICOLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
A good start, but I changed up a few things. I used RedRobyn's suggestion on the eggs - love that! I only used flour, eggs and panko for my breading. First dipped in flour. Then in the eggs. Then in the panko (japanese bread crumbs). They came out really crispy and delicious! Will totally have these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I had been CRAVING chiles rellenos when I found this recipe and couldn't WAIT to try it out. I'm new to cooking so I try to stay away from complicated recipes; this one seemed easy enough. I even checked out other members' entries to try to get some pointers. It was messy and didn't turn out quite how I expected. I prefer crunchy rellenos and these were fluffy - which I know appeals to lots of people. Broiling them and peeling them was easy. I ended up having to pan-fry them which was the messy part. All in all, they were disappointing but I realize this may have been because my expectations were too high. Maybe it'll work out better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe is great!!! all it needs to be more than great is the red sauce that goes on the chile rellenos. I used spicey pablano peppers which were the best I have a family of 8 and this was easy to prepare and fast to cook serve with beans and rice along the side makes the best mexican meal outside , going out to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon aguilar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rio Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I'm spoiled I guess... I've lived in Southern California all my life, and love Mexican food of all types. For me, Anaheim peppers are too mild, and I'll go for the Poblano any day (and who said Poblanos were "screaming hot"? They're pretty mild...) So, I used Poblanos, of course. These were not too difficult to make (time intensive, yes. Difficult? No) but the result was not worth the effort for me when I can easily go buy really good rellenos. I'm used to a softer batter - not the crispy, fried-fish like texture of these. Done with good cheese though, they are a reasonable substitute if you just can't get to decent Mexican food. While I enjoyed these, they were not what I was expecting from a Relleno. They got three stars because they were still quite tasty, and had I not been expecting a specific result, I would have loved them. Definitely worth doing for fun and a taste of Mexico if you're just dying for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer & Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Peacock
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
You must use "Big Jims" to get the proper flavor/spice/taste. That is the long skinny green chile. These were very rich! We only needed two a piece with a side of black beans and rice for a VERY filling meal. For the batter I used 4 eggs, separated. Whipped the whites and then blended the yolks separately with 1 TBSP of flour and some salt and then whip into the whites. Dip the chiles into some flour and then into the batter and place seam side down into the pan. Yum, yum but I still prefer the local hole in the wall chile rellenos and much less work when someone else makes them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Peacock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Ok, so maybe I really messed this one up. I mean it was so messy making them. So time consuming and oily to boot! I had big expectations, read all the reviews for guidance and maybe this just isn't my area... I really had my hands full with this one and it worn me out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This recipe was easy but charing them was very time consuming,they didn't look like the chile rellenos I'm youst to, so I didn't know if they where going to taste right, I served them with red sauce and every one said they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambi.S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I stuffed the chiles with the seafood mixture from the "Seafood Enchiladas" SUBMITTED BY: Cathy and my brothers Loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Yummy...I had to use less dry ingredients (once they were combined) than was called for, but they came out great!! My husband loved them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYLINK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States