Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
These turned out great!! I also took the advice of whipping the egg white separate from the yolk then folding together. I used Monterey jack cheese too. I only had 6 peppers but made the whole recipe for batter and used it all - I def wouldn't have had enough to fully coat 12 peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I made this but I added a few more things....takes longer to make but really good. I stuffed the peppers with cheese and seasoned ground turkey. I find the cheese ones are missing something...After I fried they I threw them in the oven and topped them with cheese..YUMMMM!!! I also made a tomato sauce....using some chicken stock, a whole onion cut up in small pieces some diced up garlic and a can of diced tomato let is simmer until all onion is really soft. take chiles out of the oven and top off with your sauce totally DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
You can also roast the chiles on your burner over the fire until the skin is charred. Put the chiles in a plastic bag... helps in removing the skin. Add so seasoning like salt and white pepper to the batter for flavor.... taste it. Sounds gross but how do you know the flavor unless you taste it. Makes sense right? Not sure about the cheddar though... I'd use jack or pepper jack, but that is my taste preference. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Here's some tips that might help you: -- use toothpicks to help keep the cheese inside -- then dip in the batter (making sure you separated the egg white/yolk and whipped whites to soft peaks) --> Someone please explain how to broil then "steam" the skins... broiling alone didn't seem to do the trick. --> I fried my first batch, and will bake the second batch, in the oven like a casserole, keeping the chiles separate. --> I used passilla chiles and queso cheese (this kind of cheese doesn't "liquify" at higher temps). --> Like tamales, these are time intensive, so make them with a friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Easy to make and very tasty. My Mexican wife was impressed by this from her novice gringo husband :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Bland, I followed thew other reviews with whipping the eggs and the flower, but man it was a pain to make. I could not figure out how to keep the cheese in the pepper, then I could not keep the egg mix on the pepper. mine came out messy and greasy. My hubby thinks we should try it again with a different cheese. I might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was a good recipe. I did get very frustrated when trying to peel the peppers though. Next time I'll have to do some more research on it. The breading was definitely delicious. It was a lot easier to use then whipped egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was alright. I enjoyed the basic taste but I found the batter to be bland and I recommend battering them twice before frying. Sauce is a must with this recipe. Enchilada sauce worked just fine. All in all I prefer to get these at a restaurant because they didn't wow me enough for the amount of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Great recipe! I used Poblano peppers for this and also added seasoned ground beef to the cheese filling. The advice to whip the egg white seperately from the yolk before adding to the coating ingredients was great! the batter puffed up so well it looked like a restaurant quality relleno! This recipe is easy, but labor intensive. Make sure you have plenty of time to devote to this since you have to broil the peppers and sweat them in a bag to remove the skin. I'll make these again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This recipe was excellent and I impressed the hell out of my girlfriend whom had tried this same dish at a restaurant we went to just a couple of weeks prior. I was told that mine was much better than the place we had dined at. WOOHOOO thank you !!! Make sure you separate the eggs beating the whites first then beating the yolks and then folding the yolks into the whites, then add your batter ingredients, it turned out amazingly well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States