Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Terrible attempt at a great Mexican dish. I think a gringo over heard the concept of chile rellanos and attempted to Americanize it . I would suggest finding a recipe that uses no flour only egg whites, polbano peppers and queso fresco or queso blanco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Rave reviews for these authentic chiles rellenos. I made them for just 4 Chile Poblanos. Gave one to a neighbor who loved it. Had to learn how to get the skins off, Panchita taught me. Tomorrow I make them for 30 people! I used Poblano chilies, canned El Patio sauce, and San Juan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Thanks for the Recipe! Very delicious by itself or smothered with red chile! My daughter now loves both green and red chili after having this dinner. I love the batter recipe and use it with multiple other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Single Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
These turned out great!! I also took the advice of whipping the egg white separate from the yolk then folding together. I used Monterey jack cheese too. I only had 6 peppers but made the whole recipe for batter and used it all - I def wouldn't have had enough to fully coat 12 peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I made this but I added a few more things....takes longer to make but really good. I stuffed the peppers with cheese and seasoned ground turkey. I find the cheese ones are missing something...After I fried they I threw them in the oven and topped them with cheese..YUMMMM!!! I also made a tomato sauce....using some chicken stock, a whole onion cut up in small pieces some diced up garlic and a can of diced tomato let is simmer until all onion is really soft. take chiles out of the oven and top off with your sauce totally DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
You can also roast the chiles on your burner over the fire until the skin is charred. Put the chiles in a plastic bag... helps in removing the skin. Add so seasoning like salt and white pepper to the batter for flavor.... taste it. Sounds gross but how do you know the flavor unless you taste it. Makes sense right? Not sure about the cheddar though... I'd use jack or pepper jack, but that is my taste preference. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Here's some tips that might help you: -- use toothpicks to help keep the cheese inside -- then dip in the batter (making sure you separated the egg white/yolk and whipped whites to soft peaks) --> Someone please explain how to broil then "steam" the skins... broiling alone didn't seem to do the trick. --> I fried my first batch, and will bake the second batch, in the oven like a casserole, keeping the chiles separate. --> I used passilla chiles and queso cheese (this kind of cheese doesn't "liquify" at higher temps). --> Like tamales, these are time intensive, so make them with a friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Easy to make and very tasty. My Mexican wife was impressed by this from her novice gringo husband :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Bland, I followed thew other reviews with whipping the eggs and the flower, but man it was a pain to make. I could not figure out how to keep the cheese in the pepper, then I could not keep the egg mix on the pepper. mine came out messy and greasy. My hubby thinks we should try it again with a different cheese. I might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was a good recipe. I did get very frustrated when trying to peel the peppers though. Next time I'll have to do some more research on it. The breading was definitely delicious. It was a lot easier to use then whipped egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States