Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
I have not tried this recipe, but it sounds quite good. It seems the format has changed for the reviews. I no longer am able to read the full text on any of the reviews. It used to be that the word "more" was available to click in order to read the rest of each review. I don't know if this is an issue with my computer or if this site has changed the format.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
I think slicing them down the middle and deseeding them while they are still strong and hard (before charring and peeling the skin) would be easier than when they get flimsey from the charring and skin peeling process. I think that's what I'm going to do next time. Mine were falling apart before I even got the cheese in them. What a nightmare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Good, not great, but good. I followed the recipe as is and just thought something was missing to really make it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
Maybe it's me but I followed advice from other users, and my peppers just fell apart too easy to really hold the cheese and couldn't dip it in the batter very easy, huge mess. I haven't tasted them yet since they are too got still but I hope I didn't just waste my time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teirra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
These are the CRUNCHY kind of chile rellenos...my favorite kind! All the people telling you to whip the egg whites are trying to make this recipe into the traditional puffy non-crunchy batter chile rellenos! Don't get them confused! If you put sauce on top of the crunchy ones, it doesn't break down the nice crunch as quickly...that's why I like them better. My problem is I can never take out the seeds and veins without cutting through the whole pepper, so I always have to use toothpicks to hold them together while frying...a mouth hazard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Wonderful! slice the pepper and remove seeds before broiling to remove the skin. Beat egg whites until still as another reviewer wrote. When finished frying the peppers, I fried some diced tomatoes and onions to top the peppers off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
My husband and I were wonderfully amazed at how easy and tasty this recipe is. I may add a tweak or two next time for personal taste, but we will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I'm going to try this recipe and also what STELLA advised, to seed the chiles before roasting them. But I always use HATCH, New Mexico long green chile and muenster cheese. Cheddar cheese is TEX-MEX. Also, it just has to have the tomato sauce on top, will try STELLA's tomato sauce recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralphie Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
These don't even taste like rellenos should taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Will try it, but I will use peanut oïl because from what I have read, the most unhealthy oils for frying are sunflower, canola, and vegetable oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States