Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
YUM!The base was bland, I will add seasoning next time.I roasted fresh green chilis from the garden instead of canned.There were no leftovers,we will definately keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I don't know if it's because I live in high altitude and/or if it's because I used skim milk, but it would not cook in the center. I cooked it at 375 for over an hour and it still would not. I finally took it out when the eggs were cooked, but the milk was a puddle in the center, scooped out the liquid and put some heated enchilada sauce on it to save it. I will try a bigger dish next time and less milk. It was very good, other than the liquid fiasco, which also made it look unappetizing. I also added hot sauce and hot spices to the meat and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
The chile/cheese/egg part was ok, kind of like a spicy quiche filling, but the combination of the custardy part and the chunks of ground beef was downright bizarre. It tasted weird but kind of ok the first night, but the leftovers were completely gross. I do not recommend this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
it was like a version of the bacon cheeseburger upside down pizza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. I added the taco seasoning that everyone suggested and that made it very good. My husband and I absolutely love it. My kids are picky eaters so they didn't care for it. I would recomend it though. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I think I did something wrong, though I can't imagine what. It was bland and VERY greasy. Probably won't try this again - I'll look for another recipe for something similar. To me it really wasn't even worth tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
SO, SO =-( For a traditional taste & better visuals: Break up a 14.5oz can of Mexican Style Stewed tomatoes w/fork and empty into the baking dish. I used 6 Broiled/peeled/seeded Poblano peppers. Added garlic, oregano, salt & pepper to stuffing, carefully stuffed the peppers, placed on the tomato sauce. In a bowl Whisk: 6 eggs, 1/3C flour, 1ts B.Powder & Pinch of salt, and pour over the sauce/peppers, sprinkle w/1C of shredded cheese and bake. GORGEOUS DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very good! Added extra cheese and seasoned the meat before it went into the oven, just before it was done i added cheese to the top and let it melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I'm not sure if anyone mentioned this yet. So here goes! Buy fresh greenchiles, anaheim will do- But Hatch are best.. Roast them in your oven broiler till they blister, turning to get all sides even as possible. Remove and place in a brown grocery bag, with the top folded over for 5 or so minutes. Peel stem and seed. The other tip is to combine your ground beef with an equal ammount of PORK CHIORIZO. Brown them together. Make sure you cook thoroghly. Drain grease and continue with original recipe. I also replace a small (1/3 portion) of the flour measure for the casserole "glue" with yellow corn meal, and add a few shakes of any mexican brand or tabaso type sauce to the batter. Fight Night Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This definately was not like the restaurant but it was enough to satisfy the craving. I think I added more beef and extra chiles. I can imagine that without the extra beef it would have been breakfasty, but this was meaty and I will deifnately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States