Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Quick and easy to make. Great taste ! Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krayzie4him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This doesn't taste like traditional chile rellenos, but it was a nice flavor. Instead of using canned chiles, I used freshly roasted and peeled chiles. They helped the flavor a lot, making the dish hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe-D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I was a little disappointed with lack of flavor in this recipe. I guess I was expecting it to taste a lot like chile rellenos, but it came nowhere near it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is sooooo good! For the milk, I used half milk, half heavy whipping cream to add a little thickness. I cooked the meat with 1/2 packet of taco seasoning as some of the other reviewers said to do. I also put shredded cheddar and a little chili powder on the top the last 10 minutes and it made it more appealing to the eye and added a little crunch. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Husband said in order for this to be a 5-star recipe, it needs "crispiness." That's no fault of the recipe, though. Maybe if I'd broiled it after it was done baking, it would have been 5-stars for him! I rate it 5-stars, but with a few modifications. 1.) I baked this in a 13x9 inch pan and used 4 cans of whole chile peppers (opened them up flat) and one 12 ounce can of evaporated milk instead of plain milk; 2.) I dumped two small cans of tomato sauce over the top once it was done, then baked another five minutes to heat the sauce through; 3.) since I used a bigger pan, I used another 1/2 cup of cheese (as if I need an excuse to use more cheese!). Overall a great recipe! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I used what I had- 2 lg cans chopped green peppers, and MJ cheese. Followed the recipe and it turned out great. Served with Green Salsa for the extra kick. I made Camp Cornbread and served with stuffed jalapenos. It was a very nice meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This could also be made vegetarian by substituting either Morningstar Farms Veggie Crumbles or the Boca version for ground beef. Gardenburger has a black bean chipotle burger that could probably be either cut up or crumbled into this casserole as a ground-beef substitute. I've got a vegetarian in the house, so I think about these things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
If your looking for something with a little spice to it, you'll need to add more chilies or even chopped jalapenos. I add more green chilies, onion and garlic so that the kids will eat it then my husband and me top it off with hot salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it needs triple the amount of chiles it calls for. The first time I made this with the 2 cans of chiles it was too cheesy and there weren't enough chiles. Now I always use 5 or 6 - 4oz cans. With more chiles this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. As suggested in other reviews, I also added taco seasoning to the meat and used 2-7oz. cans of peppers. Next time I may add more peppers!! Great recipe...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States