Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This doesn't taste like traditional chile rellenos, but it was a nice flavor. Instead of using canned chiles, I used freshly roasted and peeled chiles. They helped the flavor a lot, making the dish hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe-D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I was a little disappointed with lack of flavor in this recipe. I guess I was expecting it to taste a lot like chile rellenos, but it came nowhere near it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is sooooo good! For the milk, I used half milk, half heavy whipping cream to add a little thickness. I cooked the meat with 1/2 packet of taco seasoning as some of the other reviewers said to do. I also put shredded cheddar and a little chili powder on the top the last 10 minutes and it made it more appealing to the eye and added a little crunch. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Husband said in order for this to be a 5-star recipe, it needs "crispiness." That's no fault of the recipe, though. Maybe if I'd broiled it after it was done baking, it would have been 5-stars for him! I rate it 5-stars, but with a few modifications. 1.) I baked this in a 13x9 inch pan and used 4 cans of whole chile peppers (opened them up flat) and one 12 ounce can of evaporated milk instead of plain milk; 2.) I dumped two small cans of tomato sauce over the top once it was done, then baked another five minutes to heat the sauce through; 3.) since I used a bigger pan, I used another 1/2 cup of cheese (as if I need an excuse to use more cheese!). Overall a great recipe! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I used what I had- 2 lg cans chopped green peppers, and MJ cheese. Followed the recipe and it turned out great. Served with Green Salsa for the extra kick. I made Camp Cornbread and served with stuffed jalapenos. It was a very nice meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This could also be made vegetarian by substituting either Morningstar Farms Veggie Crumbles or the Boca version for ground beef. Gardenburger has a black bean chipotle burger that could probably be either cut up or crumbled into this casserole as a ground-beef substitute. I've got a vegetarian in the house, so I think about these things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
If your looking for something with a little spice to it, you'll need to add more chilies or even chopped jalapenos. I add more green chilies, onion and garlic so that the kids will eat it then my husband and me top it off with hot salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it needs triple the amount of chiles it calls for. The first time I made this with the 2 cans of chiles it was too cheesy and there weren't enough chiles. Now I always use 5 or 6 - 4oz cans. With more chiles this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. As suggested in other reviews, I also added taco seasoning to the meat and used 2-7oz. cans of peppers. Next time I may add more peppers!! Great recipe...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
At the last football game tailgate party, the theme was mexican food. I knew I couldn't take chile rellenos because they'd get too greasy. My husband grows anaheim peppers, so I picked them fresh, blistered and peeled them and made this recipe. I made four times the recipe, kept it hot in a chafing dish and it was a huge hit. Nothing was left after about 2 hours because the college frat boys kept going back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States