Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made this and replaced the beef w/ bacon that I diced and fried up quickly. I used 1 can diced green chiles and 1 can diced jalapenos because we like some heat. I served it for breakfast with toast and sliced tomatoes broiled w/ a little cheese on top. It was really good, but even BETTER later, reheated, between two slices of buttered toast as a sandwich. Maybe not traditional but one of the best breakfast sandwiches I've had! I sliced the leftovers into 'sandwich size' and froze to have quick breakkies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Thank you much for this recipe! I needed something with simple ingredients that I had on-hand. I actually used this with leftover chicken instead of beef. I wanted to be quick so I added 1 cup of salsa on top of the meat instead of onion. I used Chedder/Jack combo cheese. In addition to salt and pepper, I added 1 tsp. of sugar and 1/2 tsp. of cumin to the flour/egg mixture. I used diced green chiles and only used one 4 oz. can. I didn't want to use 2 in case I didn't like the recipe since I made so many changes. Well, it came out super tasty and I will make it again. There was a lot of juice from the salsa so I served with a slotted spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINDOUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Maybe it was our taste buds, but we really didn't care for this. I want to blame the egg. It just didn't taste right with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I did a few things differently, but it was sooo fantastic, it was all gone very quickly. I added 2 cloves of garlic, roasted 4 chillies, peeled and seeded them, split them down the center and laid them flat in the dish. I decreased the amount of milk to 1 cup and used Monterey Jack cheese instead of Cheddar. I think next time I will try corn meal mix instead of plain flour. It really was fantastic. I will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Quick and easy to make. Great taste ! Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krayzie4him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This doesn't taste like traditional chile rellenos, but it was a nice flavor. Instead of using canned chiles, I used freshly roasted and peeled chiles. They helped the flavor a lot, making the dish hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe-D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I was a little disappointed with lack of flavor in this recipe. I guess I was expecting it to taste a lot like chile rellenos, but it came nowhere near it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is sooooo good! For the milk, I used half milk, half heavy whipping cream to add a little thickness. I cooked the meat with 1/2 packet of taco seasoning as some of the other reviewers said to do. I also put shredded cheddar and a little chili powder on the top the last 10 minutes and it made it more appealing to the eye and added a little crunch. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Husband said in order for this to be a 5-star recipe, it needs "crispiness." That's no fault of the recipe, though. Maybe if I'd broiled it after it was done baking, it would have been 5-stars for him! I rate it 5-stars, but with a few modifications. 1.) I baked this in a 13x9 inch pan and used 4 cans of whole chile peppers (opened them up flat) and one 12 ounce can of evaporated milk instead of plain milk; 2.) I dumped two small cans of tomato sauce over the top once it was done, then baked another five minutes to heat the sauce through; 3.) since I used a bigger pan, I used another 1/2 cup of cheese (as if I need an excuse to use more cheese!). Overall a great recipe! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I used what I had- 2 lg cans chopped green peppers, and MJ cheese. Followed the recipe and it turned out great. Served with Green Salsa for the extra kick. I made Camp Cornbread and served with stuffed jalapenos. It was a very nice meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States