Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Just looking at this recipe, I could tell it would be WAY too bland for our tastes, as other reviewers noted. To liven it up and make it a 5* recipe, add a packet of taco seasoning, 2 tsp fresh garlic, a Tbsp of chile sauce, and some black pepper. I also used monterey-jack cheese and added chili powder to the top. Excellent with changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I make this almost once a season for a ladies church brunch. Lots of compliments! I think it would be easier with chopped chiles and the dry ingredients jumbled together then have the egg mixture poured on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This recipe was very good with the addition of taco seasoning. The real fresh roasted green chilis from the great southwest are a must instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This was ok dish. It wasn't what i was expecting. This is something that you would make for breakfast not for dinner. I was thinking that the egg and flour mix was going to coat the chile and meat mix with a crunch but it actrually made an egg casserole. I would only do this for breakfast once in a blue moon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I live in Texas and love tex mex food.This taste just like it. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I don't know how on earth this has a 4 star rating. I seasoned the beef with taco seasoning, and it still was bland and boring, we tried topping it with salsa and sour cream, and it was still not good, will throw away the leftovers and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Loved it!! I usually try to follow a recipe closely on the first try, but I did make some changes to this based on other reviews. I added about 1/3 packet of taco seasoning to the meat, and some pepper jack cheese to the casserole. This may not be authentic Mexican, and may not taste exactly like chili rellenos, but it's darn good and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I really liked this dish... it was very tasty and very easy to make. However, it reminded me nothing of chile rellenos. I agree with the other reviewers that this would be an excellent brunch dish. I would suggest doubling the amount of chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Same Chile Rellano taste without the frying and all the work, I loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I added some taco seasoning to the hamburger, and I think next time I would put some enchilada sauce over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States