Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I have been using a version of this recipe for years. For the milk I use a 14 oz can of evap. milk only. I live alone so I make the casserole in mini-loaf pans and freeze, then thaw and heat when I want it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I was worried, but this turned out great! Made it the night before, then put it in the oven when we got home. Substituted eggs with Egg Beaters and added garlic and onion powder, paprika, and parsley. This is good for brunch or dinner. We even had it cold the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
we had white rice with this and it was a great dish! Maybe some fresh diced tomatoes on top after it's finished baking would add just that perfect touch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegasescapee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Made it the first time per the recipe and it wasn't good. Used chorizo in place of the beef the second time and it wasn't too much better. Giving up on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Just looking at this recipe, I could tell it would be WAY too bland for our tastes, as other reviewers noted. To liven it up and make it a 5* recipe, add a packet of taco seasoning, 2 tsp fresh garlic, a Tbsp of chile sauce, and some black pepper. I also used monterey-jack cheese and added chili powder to the top. Excellent with changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I make this almost once a season for a ladies church brunch. Lots of compliments! I think it would be easier with chopped chiles and the dry ingredients jumbled together then have the egg mixture poured on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This recipe was very good with the addition of taco seasoning. The real fresh roasted green chilis from the great southwest are a must instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This was ok dish. It wasn't what i was expecting. This is something that you would make for breakfast not for dinner. I was thinking that the egg and flour mix was going to coat the chile and meat mix with a crunch but it actrually made an egg casserole. I would only do this for breakfast once in a blue moon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I live in Texas and love tex mex food.This taste just like it. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I don't know how on earth this has a 4 star rating. I seasoned the beef with taco seasoning, and it still was bland and boring, we tried topping it with salsa and sour cream, and it was still not good, will throw away the leftovers and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States