Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it needs triple the amount of chiles it calls for. The first time I made this with the 2 cans of chiles it was too cheesy and there weren't enough chiles. Now I always use 5 or 6 - 4oz cans. With more chiles this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. As suggested in other reviews, I also added taco seasoning to the meat and used 2-7oz. cans of peppers. Next time I may add more peppers!! Great recipe...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
At the last football game tailgate party, the theme was mexican food. I knew I couldn't take chile rellenos because they'd get too greasy. My husband grows anaheim peppers, so I picked them fresh, blistered and peeled them and made this recipe. I made four times the recipe, kept it hot in a chafing dish and it was a huge hit. Nothing was left after about 2 hours because the college frat boys kept going back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
YUM!The base was bland, I will add seasoning next time.I roasted fresh green chilis from the garden instead of canned.There were no leftovers,we will definately keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I don't know if it's because I live in high altitude and/or if it's because I used skim milk, but it would not cook in the center. I cooked it at 375 for over an hour and it still would not. I finally took it out when the eggs were cooked, but the milk was a puddle in the center, scooped out the liquid and put some heated enchilada sauce on it to save it. I will try a bigger dish next time and less milk. It was very good, other than the liquid fiasco, which also made it look unappetizing. I also added hot sauce and hot spices to the meat and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
The chile/cheese/egg part was ok, kind of like a spicy quiche filling, but the combination of the custardy part and the chunks of ground beef was downright bizarre. It tasted weird but kind of ok the first night, but the leftovers were completely gross. I do not recommend this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
it was like a version of the bacon cheeseburger upside down pizza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. I added the taco seasoning that everyone suggested and that made it very good. My husband and I absolutely love it. My kids are picky eaters so they didn't care for it. I would recomend it though. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I think I did something wrong, though I can't imagine what. It was bland and VERY greasy. Probably won't try this again - I'll look for another recipe for something similar. To me it really wasn't even worth tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
SO, SO =-( For a traditional taste & better visuals: Break up a 14.5oz can of Mexican Style Stewed tomatoes w/fork and empty into the baking dish. I used 6 Broiled/peeled/seeded Poblano peppers. Added garlic, oregano, salt & pepper to stuffing, carefully stuffed the peppers, placed on the tomato sauce. In a bowl Whisk: 6 eggs, 1/3C flour, 1ts B.Powder & Pinch of salt, and pour over the sauce/peppers, sprinkle w/1C of shredded cheese and bake. GORGEOUS DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States