Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
We really liked this! Since the cooking method is really the key to this dish, it would have been nice to have more complete instructions on what size pan and how to arrange the meat in it. I think most of us assumed to bake it in a shallow dish arranged in one layer. I more than doubled this recipe (btw, you don't need quite twice the rub - had a little too much) and didn't want to use two dishes, so I baked it in my 8-qt dutch oven. I didn't quite have room to single layer and my pork was pretty snug in there. Turned out perfect in 2 hours! For anyone who has trouble with this dish drying out, try shortening the cooking time and/or snuggling your meat cubes closer in the pan. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
while it was a little short on instructions, this is what I did: I used a shallow pan with a little olive oil on the bottom to prevent sticking and cooked it for a little less than 2hr- probably 1h40mins- DELICIOUS!!- Thanks for sharing- our two year old even liked it and she hates everything. I served it with a couple of steamed veggies on the side. I'm making it later this week for dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This is one of my favorites! I never even liked pork until I had this. My family ate it over rice. It was not very spicy, so beware if that's what you like. My mom, who doesn't like anything spicy, ate it and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I made a mistake and only used 2 tsp of chile powder (instead of tblsps), and my husband thought it was the best pork he had ever tasted. Next time, I realized my error and tried it with 2 tblsp of chile powder, and it overwhelmed the other spices. I have been making it with 2 tsps chile powder ever since. I bake it in 9X13 dish (with a little olive oil to prevent sticking) at 325 for about 45 minutes. NOTE: This rocks with cubed chicken breasts (**remember, just 2 tsps chile powder). I make both pork and chicken each time, since my husband doesn't like chicken and my son prefers chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I've made this several times, and both my husband and I really enjoy it now. However, the first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly and the pork dried out. Now I cook it for about 1/3 less time than indicated - fabulous over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Great recipe! I had to alter it, due to time and a lack of the main ingredient... So what I did was use cubed pork chops instead of pork tenderloin, cut up into 1 inch cubes. I did follow the recipe spices and marinate time. Cooked the cubes over the stovetop in a little bit of olive oil - served it over the top of Robyn Webb's "Black Beans and Rice" (on this site as well, though I did alter that recipe as well (look for my review to see the alterations)) with corn and chopped fresh red & green bell peppers on the side to cut the bite of the beans & rice. Excellent! Great idea to use the cilantro - such a wonderful fresh herb. Thanks for the recipe! Will be keeping & using it often. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is very tasty. Make sure you cover the dish/pot and its like it becomes steamed in the porks own juices. It gets tender if you cook it for a long time on a low heat. I added a teaspoon of oil, sealed it with a lid and cooked it for 1 hour at 150C-it would be a lot more tender I would say if cooked at 120C for 1.5 to 2 hours. Im definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This turned out great. I used some butter and EVOO to a 9x13 pan and added some quartered new potatos and fennel to pan. Sprinkled all with garlic powder and cooked on 350. Yummy Yummy Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Made this with "Mango Tango Black Bean Salsa," also from allrecipes, and it is an amazing compliment of flavors for a low-carb, low-fat meal. We are planning to make this at an upcoming dinner party with "Chicken Tortilla Soup V" also from this site. This recipe is easy and delicious, but be warned - 2 hours is too long unless you want the extra crisp (and chew). Check it after an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I marinaded this all day, and the flavor was fantastic. I baked it uncovered, however, and it turned out pretty dry. We enjoyed it though. Thanks, Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States