Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
THIS WAS EXCELLENT. WE USED THE PORK OVER RICE. WILL MAKE AGAIN MAYBE FOR TACOS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made this dish tonight and was slightly disappointed with result. I didn't have alot of time on hand so I skipped the marinating stage and instead boiled the meat in a pot with chicken soup base for about 15 minutes to tenderize it. I then drained the meat and mixed it with the spice blend. I oiled a baking pan with olive oil and baked 300F for half an hour. It smelled great, but I still found it dry and lacking something to make it scream "delicious". I served it on a bed of plain white rice and a side of cheesy brocoli. I did add some dijonaise and tabasco to try and make the meat juicy, but failed. I probably won't make this dish again unless there is a way to make sort of a sauce so it isn't so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This chili Pork is so good I will keep it now also will try with beef. I did do some minor modification 1 1/2 tbs for chili, put a bit oil in but should of never done that, I used pork very meat ribs cut into 3-4 inch covered it and backed for 4 hours and the pan was filled with half juice, which I used for gravy. also next time I will put some pepper flakes and more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
My family thought this was great. Since I had seen some people saying it had gotten dry & I had the time, I put mine in my crockpot for the day. It made it so moist and tender. After dinner, I shredded what was left, added a bunch of fresh roasted green chile, and my husband had lunch for another day. I can't wait to make this easy one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I made a mistake and only used 2 tsp of chile powder (instead of tblsps), and my husband thought it was the best pork he had ever tasted. Next time, I realized my error and tried it with 2 tblsp of chile powder, and it overwhelmed the other spices. I have been making it with 2 tsps chile powder ever since. I bake it in 9X13 dish (with a little olive oil to prevent sticking) at 325 for about 45 minutes. NOTE: This rocks with cubed chicken breasts (**remember, just 2 tsps chile powder). I make both pork and chicken each time, since my husband doesn't like chicken and my son prefers chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Great flavor but it turned out very tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Very good. This dish tsstes delicious with a spicy side dish of rice. I used saffron rice as a side dish and it was a delicious meal! As for the pork, I simply coated my pan with a little oil just in case of sticking. I covered the dish while it was cooking in the oven so the meat was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I did this a tad different. Used it last minute, so didn't have two hours to bake. It did sit in fridge, then I broiled it to cut down on prep time. It was still very moist. I personally didn't like the texture of the spice coating so dipped it in salsa ranch. My picky two year old skipped the dip and ate seconds and thirds and even asked for leftovers the next day! So for that it gets a 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is very tasty. Make sure you cover the dish/pot and its like it becomes steamed in the porks own juices. It gets tender if you cook it for a long time on a low heat. I added a teaspoon of oil, sealed it with a lid and cooked it for 1 hour at 150C-it would be a lot more tender I would say if cooked at 120C for 1.5 to 2 hours. Im definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS! I snugged my meat together in a Le Creuset casserole and cooked 2 thick butterflied pork chops (cubed) with the chili mixture. I did add some ground coriander to the mix (I think it compliments cumin so well) and it came out juicy and tender after about an hour. I added no additional oil or liquid, and heavens, no way would I add brown sugar. If the cumin overpowered, maybe they didn't add enough salt or the rest of the ingredients. Thank you for this truly EASY and full of flavor recipe. I can't wait to make it again. - Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States