Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is excellent! I lessened the chili powder a bit because we're wimps here, and didn't have time to leave it in the refrigerator before cooking, but it's still incredibly flavorful. I put a little oil in the bottom of the casserole, as someone suggested, and definitely let it cook for the whole 2 hours. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
LOVE IT!! I followed the directions exactly except I didn't have any fresh garlic so I substituted 2 tsp garlic powder. The garlic did not overpower the other spices. I used country style short ribs instead of the pork tenderloin and it was so moist and delicious. Definately a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morris, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I followed another user's suggestion and baked the pork on 325 for 45 minutes with a foil cover. The pork came out tender and juicy and made the perfect meal with some rice and asparagus. So delicious! I thought it was going to be spicier than it was and was pleasantly surprised that it had flavor without a lot of heat. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was tasty. The pork was deliciously tender and moist; I took the advice of other reviewers and covered my 9x13 dish. After 30 min at 225, we suddenly needed to eat sooner, so I kicked it up to 350 and it was done in 15 more min. Next time we'll make it as a filling for tacos or fajitas and somehow work some lime juice into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperK, Beginner Baker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Very easy to prepare. Baked it covered with foil and shredded it to make tacos. My two young boys ate it up. I will make this recipe again. Oh, note: I used the full amount of rub for half the amount of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was really delicious....being from New Mexico, spicy pork is a really popular dish, I cant beleive I didn't think of this earlier. First off, I unfortunatley could not use tenderloin so I cubed some thick, bonless pork cutlets. I marinated them in the rub for about 2 hours. I added some lime juice, onion slices, and sliced, fresh/raw jalepeno for the extra spice kick (great idea for those who are looking for spice). I cooked it in a pan on med/low heat with a bit of oil for about 20 minutes. It came out so good...served with some tortillas, guac, and salsa! yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
TIME SAVER -- Used a packet of chile powder mix, and left over roast. Threw a can of chopped tomatoes w/ garlic, can of beans and let it simmer til rice was cooked. Same flavors, worked great as a "fast shot" after work. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I agree with The Purple Chef. I did the recipe as it says to the letter and it was really dry even after trying to add salsa but that failed too. The garlic was too over powering and the guacalome made it taste kind of paste with garlic after taste. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Really good. Really yummy. But not so much as a meal in itself. Would be better as a filling for tortillas or sandwiches. But an awesome way to easily cook pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I would give it five stars for the excellent flavor but the cooking time brings it down. If we had followed the directions exactly I think we would've ended up with pork jerky. We shortened the time significantly but it was still dry. Next time I'll try another reviewer's suggestion and cook for 45 mins at 325, with a foil cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States