Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Made this exactly as written except I only cooked it for an hour at 300. It was perfectly cooked and not dry at all. Great flavor. I served it with cilantro rice and grilled zucchini. Everyone liked it the way it was including the 2T of chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
First, I'd like to say that the poor review from RMSR is completely irrelevant! Hello....If you completely didn't follow the recipe then don't give it a bad rating! I followed the recipe to the T. The only question I had was how small to cube the meat. I made the cubes about 1-2" square and as SunnyByrd did, I crowded the meat in the dish. Baked for 2 hours and it's perfect! Great recipe - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBARTLETT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was different. By itself, the pork was just dry dry dry with an overpowering taste of - well, I'm not sure if it was too much cumin or too much chili powder, but *something* was off. I just couldn't eat it. Having said that, I had made some Spanish rice to go along with meal, so I simply cut the meat up smaller, mixed it in with the rice, cheese, and sour cream and ate it in a burrito. Now THAT was good. I'd probably give this a 3 1/2 (only because the meat was SO dry ... and I had cut my pieces fairly large after ready similar comments by other reviewers. Thanks so much for recipe, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I only baked this for about 1.5 hours because I was worried about the meat drying out and getting ruined. My pieces of meat had crispy edges and tender centers and we were happy with it. I served with cilantro potatoes and Calabacitas con Elote (a zucchini/corn recipe also from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Since the recipe is lacking in instructions I wasn't sure what type of pan to bake this in and if I should cover it or not. Since it did mention "cook until crispy" and the temp was low I opted for a 13x9 metal pan and didn't cover.... sadly it was terribly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Spices seemed off to us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I love this and make it often. Instead of cooking it in the oven I cook it in a skillet on the stove hot and fast. Pork is very tasty and juicy this way, saves time too. I serve them on corn tortillas with lime, guacamole, and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
We loved this although I did change the recipe. I had chucks of pork, no chili powder and added a small chopped onion, 6 cloves of garlic and a 1/2 a small can of tomato sauce then I threw it all in the crock pot. I put it on HIGH for 3 1/2 hours. It was crazy good. We shredded it for tacos and the toddlers had it over rice. The babies loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
The flavor was really good and even my 5 and 7 year old really liked it in tacos. I followed the recipe pretty close but used a different cut of pork that I had on hand which made it much harder to cut into chunks ahead of time so I diced it after cooking for about the 2 hours then returned to the oven to brown it some more. Next time I will be sure to buy the pork tenderloin and try it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I didn't have chili powder, so I used a thai red chili paste and it turned out excellent. Next time I will marinade it longer. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and snugged the meat tightly in a greased baking dish. I cooked it 1 !/2 hours and it was almost too much. My husband felt it was a little dry, but loved the flavors. So the next day I warmed up the leftovers with some veggies and Thai Kitchen Sweet Chili Sauce and served over the rice and it was excellent. I served it both days with the Orange Rice which is also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States