Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS! I snugged my meat together in a Le Creuset casserole and cooked 2 thick butterflied pork chops (cubed) with the chili mixture. I did add some ground coriander to the mix (I think it compliments cumin so well) and it came out juicy and tender after about an hour. I added no additional oil or liquid, and heavens, no way would I add brown sugar. If the cumin overpowered, maybe they didn't add enough salt or the rest of the ingredients. Thank you for this truly EASY and full of flavor recipe. I can't wait to make it again. - Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I really, really wanted to love this, and think that with some modifications I'll like it a lot better. I made this according to the recipe first, and found the taste of cumin to be overwhelming (and not in a good way - I normally love cumin). I was using just over 2 lbs of pork tenderloin, cut into bite-sized pieces, and I packed them into a 1.5 quart oval cassarole dish - the pork cubes were in 2-3 layers and close together. Because of this, I baked for 1 hour 45 minutes (stirring half-way through) instead of the 2 hours and the pork came out only semi-dry (I baked uncovered since the recipe didn't specify). I'll cut down to 1 hour and 30 minutes next time. I'll also add some brown sugar next time as well as cut down on the cumin. I served this with taco flavored rice and the combo seemed to be a hit. I think this recipe has some great possibilities and am looking forward to personalizing it. Will most definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
We didn't care for this much, I'm sorry to say. It seemed dry, and the chili powder flavor overwhelmed the other seasonings. It did get tender though... I'm willing to give it another try with some adjustments to the spices. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Baked this for 1hr 10mmin. 30min on 225F, 30min on 350F, then the remaining on 225F. Went well with my mexican burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
We really liked this! Since the cooking method is really the key to this dish, it would have been nice to have more complete instructions on what size pan and how to arrange the meat in it. I think most of us assumed to bake it in a shallow dish arranged in one layer. I more than doubled this recipe (btw, you don't need quite twice the rub - had a little too much) and didn't want to use two dishes, so I baked it in my 8-qt dutch oven. I didn't quite have room to single layer and my pork was pretty snug in there. Turned out perfect in 2 hours! For anyone who has trouble with this dish drying out, try shortening the cooking time and/or snuggling your meat cubes closer in the pan. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I was pressed for time so I wasn't able to bake it, so I cooked it stove top. It turned out wonderful. The spices were a great mixture. Spicy without being too spicy. My mom even liked it. I was told that I better not lose the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
FANTASTIC! I am not a pork lover, but my husband is and this recipe was AMAZING! My husband thought it was excellent. I took a tip from another review and put oil in the pan I baked in and that helped keep the moisture! Really yummy with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
My husband and I couldn't get enough of this! We used curry this time instead of cumin, and are excited to try the cumin version too. Absolutely delicious! Oh, I did cut the bake time to 1.5 hours. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Really enjoyed this one - had tons of flavour! The only thing I changed was to cut the recipe in half (only had one tenderloin) and didn't use cilantro (we don't like it at all!). I did add some crushed red pepper flakes and didn't bake quite as long as stated, probably about 1 hr and 20 mins...very moist and tender pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was a superb meat dish. Great complex flavor and tastes very good over white rice. I marinated the meat for two days in the recommended spices, and coated the bottom of the pan with olive oil. As other reviewers have noted, it does not need to cook for 2 hours; I only cooked it for about 1 hour and 20 minutes, and it still came out moist. I will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States