Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I think it would have tasted better if I just used 1 tbsp kashmiri chili powder. I felt it was also too dry to just eat by itself. I had it with tabouli and plain nonfat yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Made this exactly as written except I only cooked it for an hour at 300. It was perfectly cooked and not dry at all. Great flavor. I served it with cilantro rice and grilled zucchini. Everyone liked it the way it was including the 2T of chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
First, I'd like to say that the poor review from RMSR is completely irrelevant! Hello....If you completely didn't follow the recipe then don't give it a bad rating! I followed the recipe to the T. The only question I had was how small to cube the meat. I made the cubes about 1-2" square and as SunnyByrd did, I crowded the meat in the dish. Baked for 2 hours and it's perfect! Great recipe - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBARTLETT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was different. By itself, the pork was just dry dry dry with an overpowering taste of - well, I'm not sure if it was too much cumin or too much chili powder, but *something* was off. I just couldn't eat it. Having said that, I had made some Spanish rice to go along with meal, so I simply cut the meat up smaller, mixed it in with the rice, cheese, and sour cream and ate it in a burrito. Now THAT was good. I'd probably give this a 3 1/2 (only because the meat was SO dry ... and I had cut my pieces fairly large after ready similar comments by other reviewers. Thanks so much for recipe, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I only baked this for about 1.5 hours because I was worried about the meat drying out and getting ruined. My pieces of meat had crispy edges and tender centers and we were happy with it. I served with cilantro potatoes and Calabacitas con Elote (a zucchini/corn recipe also from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Since the recipe is lacking in instructions I wasn't sure what type of pan to bake this in and if I should cover it or not. Since it did mention "cook until crispy" and the temp was low I opted for a 13x9 metal pan and didn't cover.... sadly it was terribly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Spices seemed off to us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I love this and make it often. Instead of cooking it in the oven I cook it in a skillet on the stove hot and fast. Pork is very tasty and juicy this way, saves time too. I serve them on corn tortillas with lime, guacamole, and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
We loved this although I did change the recipe. I had chucks of pork, no chili powder and added a small chopped onion, 6 cloves of garlic and a 1/2 a small can of tomato sauce then I threw it all in the crock pot. I put it on HIGH for 3 1/2 hours. It was crazy good. We shredded it for tacos and the toddlers had it over rice. The babies loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
The flavor was really good and even my 5 and 7 year old really liked it in tacos. I followed the recipe pretty close but used a different cut of pork that I had on hand which made it much harder to cut into chunks ahead of time so I diced it after cooking for about the 2 hours then returned to the oven to brown it some more. Next time I will be sure to buy the pork tenderloin and try it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States