Chile Garlic BBQ Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This recipe is fabulous! I cooked it in foil in the oven at 425 for 20 minutes and threw in slices of red pepper too, which were amazing with the sauce. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I loved this, and I am very picky about salmon recipes. Like other reviewers, I thought the flavors would overpower the salmon, but the marinade really wasn't too strong at all! I used a 1 lb. salmon filet cut into 2" chunks but kept the other quantities the same, wrapped in foil and baked in the oven for about a half hour. The only thing I would do differently next time is use lite soy sauce (personal preference) and if baking like I did this time I would open the foil for the last 5 minutes to let the sauce carmelize a bit. Will definitely try this with a whole salmon some day as the recipe states!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Living in the Pacific NW, I don't like to add anything too fancy to salmon....my husband was worried that this dish would cover up the flavor of the salmon..and amazingly it enhanced the flavor of the salmon. This is a regular salmon dish in our family now...don't hesitate to try it if you love the real salmon flavor...this did NOT cover it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I can't wait to try this on whole salmon on the grill because it was absolutely delicious on filets done in the oven. I spooned the marinade on the filets about an hour before putting them in and wrapped them in foil while they waited. I used a hot oven for 20 minutes. About 450 degrees. Probably a lower temp would have worked just as well. I have a side of salmon that I'm going to try it on next, tomorrow in fact, outdoors on the grill. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Lagdameo
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
We love this recipe and this is one of the easiest salmon recipe anyone can make. I made it twice already. The first time, I followed the recipe as it was written. We were very impressed. Though after reading most of the reviews, many reviewers were wondering if the fish can be marinated more than 30 minutes. I, personally do not agree marinating more that 30 minutes. I want to taste my fish, and have the marinade compliment the fish, not the other way around. So the second time I made this recipe, I decided to make my marinade a day early. I combined ALL the ingredient (except for the fish) in a container, added a small drop of sesame oil, and about 15 cilantro leaves. The next day, I poured the marinade on the fish, marinate it for 30 minutes and baked it. Sprinkled it fresh scallions and cilantro. The dish is so delicious. All the ingredients complimented each other. Although, when i serve this dish to a group of people, I think I will strain the marinade before pouring it to the fish. The presentation will be better if my guest do not see the chucks of garlic, ginger and wilted scallions and cilantro. Can't wait to make this again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lagdameo
Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Another 5 star salmon recipe for us. My husband another couple that I had over for dinner tonight were all in agreement. I forgot to put the lime juice in and did not have any fresh ginger (so used 1 tsp. ground) and did not have any green onions....even with all this..it was absolutely fabulous. Thank you for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I needed a little something to spice up the usual bland fish dinner at my household. When i found the chile garlic bbq salmon recipe on my favourite website in the world, I thought, lets give it a shot. My kids who dont normally like fish asked for seconds and my wife thinks ive been going to chef school when shes at work. Only we know my secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
When I first read this recipe I saw the words BBQ and then looked at the ingredients and thought it sounded like a nice combination. What I didn't realize when I went to make it was the complete foil wrapping. Seems to me that if you're going to completely wrap something in foil, then why cook it on the grill? Probably the reason the majority of the reviews made this in the oven. We didn't , we marinaded in the chili sauce a 3.5 pound salmon for about an hour, I had to double the marinade, but left only 1 tablespoon of grated fresh ginger. I didn't have a fresh lime so just used a tablespoon of lime juice, no zest. And a few more garlic cloves. We grilled our fillets right on the grill with out any foil, then basted them in the marinade that I quickly cooked on the stove-top with a teaspoon of cornstarch. This was one of the best marinades I've ever tried on salmon and we have tried just about every recipe on this site. My chili sauce is from World market and might be part of the reason such a good flavor. Was just the right amount of spice and sweet combination, and yet let the full flavor of the fresh salmon come through. The fish was so moist tender and flaky. My husband thanks you...I thank you for we would've never thought of this marinade without your recipe. If you're grilling, no need for the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This is good! I added a little soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, a shake of sesame oil, olive oil and used it as a marinade. I served it with a cucumber salad on top, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This salmon was awesome! Very flavorful and moist. It was perfect. We ate it with asian flavored green beans and rice. Thank you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States