Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
i made this recipe for my mexican husband, and he LOVED it, i enjoyed it as well. i added cumin, garlic, onion powder, thyme and increased salt & pepper. served with chopped onion, fresh lime, cilantro & corn tortillas. my husband said it was one of the best dishes i have ever made.( and he is hard to please) thankyou for sharing this awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Zaragoza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Excellent. I ahve made it twice with similar results. I have used the pre-cut stew meat from Costco (about $15 for 6 pounds). I could not find New Mexico Chiles in California, so I used a 3 oz. bag of California dried Chiles and 3 Guajillo dried pods for heat. I used a 32 oz beef stock box from Trader Joes, 2 onions, and I added all the water from the steeping into the blender. After 3 hours of simmering, the liquid reduces by about half and it is phenomonal. Many Thanks.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Finally , someone who knows traditional mexican cooking! This recipe is nearly identical to one I use, key difference is since I grew up in Hatch, N.M., I am used to using pork.Good Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I did something wrong here. The directions said to DREDGE the meat in flour, which to me means to coat it on all sides. You simply cannot dredge 5 pounds of cubed roast in 1/2 cup of flour, so I used as much flour as it took to dredge all the meat. BIG BIG MISTAKE, don't do it. I ended up with, instead of sauce, a nasty red paste covering the meat. I will try it again soon, but this time I will only SPRINKLE a 1/2 cup of flour over the 5 pounds of cut up meat!!! It will be more like a seasoning than a dredging. I bet it will be terrific, because I LOVE chile colorado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I'm not a huge fan of tomato based dishes, nor do I care for beans in chili. I was looking for an authentic yet easy version of Chile Colorado (my 2nd favorite to Chile Verde) and this recipe is it! It's truly an authentic dish like you would get a Mexican restaurant. Making the chili "sauce" was really neat - taking dried chilis and turning it into a suace. I actually pureed the chilis in the "soaking" water, making a "sauce" about the consistency of a thick "cream of chicken" soup. I too cut back a little on the beef broth, as I want a really thick sauce. I just took a sneak taste of the sauce - incredible! Thanks for posting the recipe! I know this will be something I will make many more times! Joseph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very good recipe! I added 2T. minced garlic, 1t. Mexican oregano, 1/2t. ground cinnamon, 1/2 t. cayenne, 1/2 t. ground cumin and 1/2 t. ground coriander seed and it was great. I would definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe was really good. I grew up eating Chile Colorado and am happy to have found this recipe. The interesting thing is Chile Colorado is supposed to be meat with a red sauce, a traditional Hispanic dish. It isn't supposed to be made with beans thrown in it as a typical chili (not chile) would have so I am confused when people add beans to this dish. i come from a Hispanic family and they have all made it with the meat and red sauce. Anyhow, this recipe is perfect. I made it with pork roast instead, which I cut up. I also couldn't find any New Mexico chiles so used California chiles and added some New Mexico chile powder, about 1 tsp, to the sauce mixture. Since I used pork, I used chicken broth, 2 cups, to the pot. Served with rice, beans and tortillas. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
We decided this is the BEST chili we have had. (as did others!) Be sure to add cumin, garlic powder, onion for more taste. At the end of cooking time, we added 2 cans of dark red kidney beans (drained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoffeeHeaven
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I have never made Chile Colorado until today. It is simmering right now. I love the flavor. I also used 3 guajillo pods along with the new mexico chiles. The only thing I can add is DO NOT FORGET to do the step where you pass the puree through a fine mesh strainer. I almost didn't do it because it looked smooth, but it wasn't. I did it after I realized the chili skin wasn't blended. Now it tastes awesome. Great recipe, I will make this again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeHeaven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was good, but didn't taste like chile colorado. I think it needs more spices than just the new mexico chiles. It ended up tasting like beef stew, how weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States