Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Finally , someone who knows traditional mexican cooking! This recipe is nearly identical to one I use, key difference is since I grew up in Hatch, N.M., I am used to using pork.Good Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
delicious, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Excellent recipe! I cut back on the amount of liquid to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
excellent recipe. everyone that tastes it asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This is awesome! I'm not a great cook but really love authentic mexican food. I have been looking for a recipe for this dish for over 20 years. A little labor intensive but well worth the effort. Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE. BE IT FOR THE GANG WATCHING FOOTBALL OR A FAMILY MEAL, THEY ARE ALWAYS ASKING FOR MORE. ALWAYS A CROWD PLEASER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encino, California, USA
Living In: North Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I'm not a huge fan of tomato based dishes, nor do I care for beans in chili. I was looking for an authentic yet easy version of Chile Colorado (my 2nd favorite to Chile Verde) and this recipe is it! It's truly an authentic dish like you would get a Mexican restaurant. Making the chili "sauce" was really neat - taking dried chilis and turning it into a suace. I actually pureed the chilis in the "soaking" water, making a "sauce" about the consistency of a thick "cream of chicken" soup. I too cut back a little on the beef broth, as I want a really thick sauce. I just took a sneak taste of the sauce - incredible! Thanks for posting the recipe! I know this will be something I will make many more times! Joseph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Excellent. I ahve made it twice with similar results. I have used the pre-cut stew meat from Costco (about $15 for 6 pounds). I could not find New Mexico Chiles in California, so I used a 3 oz. bag of California dried Chiles and 3 Guajillo dried pods for heat. I used a 32 oz beef stock box from Trader Joes, 2 onions, and I added all the water from the steeping into the blender. After 3 hours of simmering, the liquid reduces by about half and it is phenomonal. Many Thanks.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Simply AMAZING! This is one of my favorite dishes to order out, so nice to be able to make this at home. I used California chilies, it was the perfect amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
A southern Californian all my life, I grew up eating great Mexican dishes. This Chile Colorado is the real deal. We ate ourselves silly-and then my adult children took away ALL the leftovers. (Recipe makes a lot,) Thanks, Helena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States